Yes, this is a post about rain

in #homesteading5 years ago

It finally rained! I live in Northwest Oregon, where it's supposed to rain for nine months out of the year. In return, we get the most spectacular summers. We had a cold and dry winter, aside from a monster rainstorm that I wrote about a few months ago. We have had a very warm and dry spring, which is beautiful and makes it much easier to work outside. However, our house is spring-fed, and if we don't get enough rain, we will run out of water. So the return of the black clouds was very warmly welcomed.

IMG_20190514_141628442.jpg

Goats are not fond of rain. The brush herd will go out and browse when it's wet because they have no choice. My milkers will line up at the door of the barn and glare out at the weather, waiting for it to change. They have a magic manger that refills twice a day, so they don't have to work for their dinner. When I went to check on the brush goats, they were in the trailer making similarly grim faces.

IMG_20190514_142048652.jpg

They have been a little spoiled by the dry weather we've been having. They got used to browsing when they feel like it and napping seven times a day. I think they forgot about the soggy conditions they usually have to contend with.

IMG_20190514_142133521.jpg

We have run out of water twice in the almost eleven years we've lived here. The first time was after a spring just like this. We thought we had hit the mother lode of awesome weather, and then October rolled around and the water was gone. It takes a lot of rain to make a spring start flowing again. There's a guy in a neighboring town who has a big water tanker truck, and he will bring it out and fill up your tank. That helps in the short term, but there's still a lot of praying to the skies. Also, the water he brings is city water, which means it is treated with chemicals, and after so long on the best water anywhere, it's hard to drink the chlorine cocktail.

IMG_20190514_162022454 (1).jpg

The first time we ran out of water, we didn't have goats yet, so our water needs were much lower. I use a lot of water just in the milking process, especially on days when I have to pasteurize. We have a 1500 gallon tank behind the barn that captures rainwater off the barn roof and gravity feeds into the barn, so the goats always have water. In a pinch and with several hundred feet of hose, we can use it for the poultry too.

IMG_20190514_162038665 (1).jpg

There's a faint rainbow in that last picture that I could see on my phone, but doesn't seem to have translated to a larger screen. It's supposed to rain off and on for the rest of the week. I sure hope that the weather people are right for a change! I have to move a goat fence on one property today and a trailer on another, and I will happily do both in the rain!

To summarize, here are the upsides of rain:

  1. I never got around to washing the outside of my car, and now I don't have to! The dust and bird poop are gone from my windshield.
  2. The spring will get a little help, and maybe we will make it until the fall rainy season without a water crisis.
  3. The ducks are ever so happy!
  4. The dust on the gravel roads is watered down, so I don't have to breathe clouds of it while driving to check on the goats.

The downsides of rain:

  1. I forgot to roll up the windows in my car, so my seat was very wet yesterday.
  2. The gray weather makes me want to take a nap all the time.

IMG_20190514_162311552.jpg

Water is the one thing we can't improvise or do without. I feel a little weird doing an entire post about the weather, but farmers are nerdy like that. Be well, everyone, and let it rain!

Sort:  

We need some rain here to wash away all the dust particles in the air in the city! We are also obsessed about the weather: rain! We need more rain! The river needs to have more fresh water too! It’s very important to our life!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Indeed! I can do without a lot of things, but not water!

Posted using Partiko Android

happy rainy day
they are very beautiful

Can't you have a well sunk to use as a back up? :-)

Hello..!!
@goat-girlz
I'm glad you have been blessed with some needed rain... :D I have been getting lots of it. I too love rain however I am looking fwd to some drier and warmer weather. I'll take rain over a drought anytime..
Beautiful rainbow..🤗 even if it is faint..!!
:D

Do you have rain barrels set up? That would be a way to at least keep plenty of water for the garden and critters. I'm sure one normal rainfall would keep them all filled. :)

Actually, in England, (similar climate, I'm sure you know) - they often just set the rain barrels out next to people's allotments - they're usually completely full too. So, maybe some ways to save water - it's not something Oregonians think about too often, lol - especially west of the mountains.

We have a 1500 gallon tank behind the barn that keeps the goats watered. That helps a lot, especially because milkers need so much more water. Rain barrels are nice but we go through way too much water for those to be worth the plumbing!

Posted using Partiko Android

It does look a bit dull and dreary, but I am sure the rain will all pass soon enough, and you will have your much needed water. :-)

I see the faint rainbow in the picture.

I love rain! I don't mind it at all!

I love rain! I don't mind it at owl!


I am a bot. I detect owl related puns.

Happy days ahead i love your goats they are such a cute animal :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 153 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you, truffle pig!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lets hope you get many more rain days and your spring is replenished, we have had plenty recently and have some now I will happily send it your way :)

Thank you! I've been hoping someone would send some! The sunny days are nice, but we need the rain.

Posted using Partiko Android

Let hope your spring fills up and your in good shape for water

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56