The goats got a job!

in #homesteading5 years ago

The goats are on their first job of the year! I only took half of the herd, because it's not a very big job. We actually did this same job last year, but the homeowner didn't get around to building the chicken coop she planned to put in the space, so everything grew back. She swears she will build the coop this year.

IMG_20190426_151623101.jpg

When we did this job the last time, it was much later in the season, so we didn't know that the whole area is full of bleeding hearts. They are beautiful plants, but quite poisonous, so we spent an hour and a half pulling as many as we could find, which was a lot. There are lots of bracken ferns in the space too, which I remembered from last year. They are much more toxic in the spring, so we had to make sure we got all of them.

IMG_20190426_151635181.jpg

Here's what it looks like before they got started. I will try to remember to get a picture when they're done. I always mean to, but I usually forget.

IMG_20190426_151640112.jpg

When we were done getting them set up, we had to go back to the property where they've been living all winter because my car was there. We found the remaining goats on the wrong side of the fence once again. We put up another piece of fence to block the tunnel they made through the giant blackberry pile. I will be very curious to see it if works. I'm moving the remaining herd to a property down the road from me tomorrow, so hopefully this Houdini nonsense will be done.

IMG_20190426_151620237.jpg

When we got home, my son and I took the big dog and our two puppies down the road to the property the herd will be working on next. I know there's a ton of bracken fern there, so I figured we could start pulling it and get the puppies used to being in the car. They made it there without throwing up! It's less than a mile, so I figured if I took it slowly they would be okay.

IMG_20190426_175409207.jpg

They had a marvelous time romping around in the grass and exploring. We would have stayed longer, but I got a phone call from home asking "Are the goats supposed to be on the back patio?" No, they are not. We had to go home immediately and put the goats back where they belong. After all the evening chores were done and I had time to sit
down and write this post, we were hearing puppy noises that sounded farther away than they should have. Turns out two of the puppies managed to get into the feed pen in the barn and couldn't figure out how to get back out. Every time I think I can relax, some other crazy starts happening.

IMG_20190426_175406924.jpg

I'm going to try to sit quietly for the rest of the evening, because tomorrow I have to finish mucking out the big trailer and move the rest of the goats, and I am very, very tired. Also, my arms are tingling because the area we were working in today is full of stinging nettles. I feel like I have been complaining a lot, but I do actually love my job!

Sort:  

Looks like everything is greening up, same here. Those goats can be buggers, getting out all the time, but I think they are so cute. #homesteading is hard work, but so fulfilling

It's really hard work, but I love it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing how the goats do their job. Too bad the dogs couldn’t be trained to keep the goats from escaping....sort of a herd dog like Dad had for the cows.

They are supposed to be herd dogs, but they live at home. I would love to put a dog in with the goats, but most of the places they go to already have dogs so I worry about fighting. Also, I have to learn how to really train them!

Posted using Partiko Android

If memory serves me correctly....When Dad wanted the cows to come into the barn, he walked to the barn calling for the cows and would tell the dogs to bring the cows in. The dog would go to the pasture , circle around the cows while barking at their heels to get them moving towards the barn.

Always something going on. Always something to do. What an exciting life. :-) Quite a job keeping the goats where you want them.

Hello...
@goat-girlz
Awesom the goats got a job..😊.
Will be cool to see the after photos..!! I'm sure they'll do a great job.
Fantastic the pups are getting used to riding and will feel their on a great adventure..
:D

Quite a lawn mowers you have ahaha! I find it so funny how adventurous goats are and that they always find a way how to sneak out of the fence.

And puppies! ^^

@goat-girlz have you had any chances to feed your goats cannabis? And how about them clearing an area of outdoor cannabis? Since your in a legal state curious if you had a chance to have the goats chomp on the stuff.

Posted using Partiko Android

They've had clippings, but nobody has called asking me to clear an area. That's an interesting idea!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05