Six dog night

in #homesteading5 years ago

The storm descended yesterday, in the form of two extra puppies! They will be here for the next two weeks plus, and I'm not sure that anything in the house will survive, including me. I went out to do goat rounds early yesterday, so I could be sure to be home when they arrived. When I got to the job with the larger herd, I found this.

IMG_20190713_121350359_HDR.jpg

This is a repeat customer, and the last time the goats were there, both she and her great-grandson fell in love with them, so much so that the little guy, who was maybe five at the time, drew us a picture of the goats and the trailer. Apparently she was so happy to get them back that she put a chair next to the trailer so she could hang out with them. I will feel guilty when they finish their job and have to leave her!

IMG_20190713_155634687.jpg

In the interest of wearing out the puppies, and since it's been really hot, we took all six dogs to the river yesterday. They had a fabulous time, but their poor mother seemed a little harassed. She is all about chasing the ball or the stick or whatever she can get someone to throw, and the puppies couldn't care less. They just want to chase her!

IMG_20190713_154432933.jpg

It was nice to be out in the water, though, and the trip produced the desired effect: tired puppies.

IMG_20190713_155542722.jpg

I wish I could wear them out like that every day, but that's a lot of vomit in my car. I will have to think of something else for them to do.

IMG_20190713_163744289.jpg

We did move their fence this morning, so they can run around the house on the outside instead of just on the inside. If we can get them to figure that out, it should go a long way towards burning off some of that excess herd dog energy.

IMG_20190713_182818603.jpg

The rampaging herd of puppies was cute when they were small enough that I could pick up several at a time, but now they're about as big as Suki, their mother, and they can do so much more damage!

Here's the obligatory picture of the river. The clouds have finally burned off, so it's much warmer but a lot less humid.

IMG_20190713_172727233.jpg

Be well, everyone, and if you hear frustrated weeping, it's probably me!

Sort:  

Sounds like you're in for a torrid time. Long hours at the river may be your only salvation however car vomit not so much. Maybe tie them to the rear bumper of the car and make them run home as you drive. I'm just kidding.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a great idea! They would be so tired!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yet again I'm safe in bed with a cup of coffee. Reading this, I feel as though I've already run a marathon. 😊

Hahahaha! I feel that way too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lovely shot of the river and clouds. That river is a god-send for you to keep the dogs tired and they enjoy the water so much.
You lead a busy life with moving the goats around and now extra puppies for a few weeks. Nice your customer is getting so much pleasure from seeing the goats
Hopefully a good week for you @goat-girlz. 💕

Thank you! The river is a great resource for wearing dogs out. Anything that gives me a quiet hour in the house is good for me!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Storm puppies and beautiful landscape :) I like it.

Thank you! It's been crazy!

Posted using Partiko Android

Awwwwwww... Love the photo with the ball, especially!

How much barfing was involved in the river trip? :-)

So much barfing! The soundtrack of the trip is syncopated puppy retching. It would be hilarious if I didn't have to pull out the shop vac when I get home!

Posted using Partiko Android

Too bad you don't have a little enclosed puppy trailer, so you could just hose it down afterwards. Yuck!

I wonder why some breeds are prone to motion sickness like that... The only mess my dogs have left have been nose art, slobber spots, and furry seats.

Puppy trailer! Brilliant! I haul goats around in trailers. Seems like I should have thought of that!

Posted using Partiko Android

isnt that supposed to be three dog night lol
great picture of the river
be well ad be safe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44