Oh for Pete's sake!

in #homesteading6 years ago

I really thought we were going to get away with the winter that wasn't. It has been pretty warm and uneventful, and once we turned the corner into February I figured we were out of the woods and could scurry on to spring.

IMG_20190205_065723771.jpg
This was dawn this morning. It was 20 degrees, which is unreasonably cold to me. Here is a frosty artifact I saw on my way down from the barn this morning.

IMG_20190205_083524006_HDR.jpg

This is what @wildhomesteading calls frost flowers. This one looks like a resting snow monster or something. It has an eyeball.

The brush goats were very cold and unhappy when I went to check on them. We don't get this kind of cold very often and none of us are ever prepared for it. I took a walk around the properties where the goats are living and took some pictures.

IMG_20190206_112356186.jpg
IMG_20190206_112227925_HDR.jpg

IMG_20190206_114555364_HDR.jpg

IMG_20190206_115409011.jpg

And just because I can't resist baby pictures, here's one of the puppies cuddling with my son. Their eyes are open now but they can't really see yet. They still just eat, sleep and poop.

IMG_20190206_161158803.jpg

Be well, everyone, and hang on until spring!

Sort:  

Hello
@goat-girlz
Wow.... Most concerning weather for your goats...!!!! I hope they'll be ok. I know you'll do everything possible for their needs. It's hard when their not used to and adjusted for it..including yourself.
I HOPE the weather turns around quickly ...!!!!!
You captured some awesome photos.
❤puppy pic....love.
Hang In There....

Thank you! I hope it warms up soon too. I know you've had it much worse lately, but this is really cold for what we're used to. I think winter is trying to distinguish itself at the last minute. The goats all sleep in a pile so they stay warm at night, and during the day they just follow the sun around.

True
I am used to very cold temperatures .. It's normal where I live.
But
truly the stress of quick and abnormal cold temperatures is very difficult and most worrisome for all that are no acclimated...
I'm sure they all do huddled up together. They know..
(:

It's true. The quick changes are hard to adapt to, both for them and for me.

Goats are spoiled by your warm climate.

Indeed they are! And do am I!

Posted using Partiko Android

I was really hoping we were past winter too... at least there is some beauty to be seen - thanks for the mention! I really like frost flowers and they are fun to find.

I'm taking a break from a lot of my outdoor homesteading projects until this cold goes away. But looks like at least up here in WA we are stuck with it through next week...

Once things thaw it will be garden building time on my homestead. What do you have planned for the spring?

My first plan is to thaw my toes. Then maybe we can do some gardening. I haven't done much with the garden for the last several years because I've been running my goat rental business, which tends to get busy in the spring. I'm hoping I can do both this year and actually grow some food.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good call on thawing your toes - I may need to do some thawing too! I can imagine that a goat rental business would take up a lot of time. I don't have any animals at the moment - made the choice to get my plant based food production up and running first. Just not enough time to do it all. I hope it works out for you to be able to grow some food this year!

Little shameless plug for one of my recent blog posts... you might want to consider growing some perennial vegetables. The post focused on perennial greens which I think are the easiest type of perennial vegetable to get started with.

These plants are relatively low maintenance and you only need to plant them once :) I'm going to be planting a bunch in my garden this year - I have a new baby on the way (due in May) and I want easy and low maintenance veggies! Plus they should come back next year!

I did read your post on perennials. I may have to try some of those. We also started with plants and did really well until the chickens started reproducing. Now they roam like a street gang all over the property and devour everything smaller than a tree. We will have to install a more serious fence around the garden or I will just be growing things for them to eat!

Congratulations on the new baby! That's very exciting!

Thank you! :) Ya, I have heard some horror stories about chickens getting into people's gardens. When I get chickens I want to use a mobile coop and electric poultry netting to move them around my property on a regular basis. At least at the start. I'm hoping they can help me prep land for future planting.

GOATS! FROST FLOWERS! PUPPIES!

whatnot to LOVE!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Photographing frost is one of my favorite things in winter i have blogged about it alot. Its always beautiful.
And the puppy is so cute

Wonderful in every way! Puppies are just like human babies that way, aren't they? Your son reminds me of my own. All my best <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83