Meet the goats! Part 12

in #homesteading5 years ago

This is Toaster and Flapjack. They are Bambi's only live kids. She, just like her mother, Clover, didn't take easily to motherhood. She seemed really confused about what to do. These were the last two kids born in 2016, so we were waiting for her to deliver and were able to save her kids.

IMG_0911.JPG

Toaster is the guy on the left, named because of his lovely toasty color. Flapjack got his name because he had a really hard time getting started in life and was mostly flat on his side until we got him warmed up and nursing. He also has a folded ear, which I would have corrected had I noticed, but I was too busy trying to keep him alive to do cosmetic procedures at the time.

IMG_0987.JPG

This happens sometimes with floppy-eared goats, and can be corrected by putting a toilet paper tube in the ear and fastening with a rubber band. The tendons will stretch out in a few days and they look as good as new. The folded ear doesn't cause him any trouble, and I think it's an endearing look, so I don't mind not having fixed it, and he doesn't seem to mind either. I don't think the other goats make fun of him, but you never know what they do when my back is turned.

IMG_20170319_192309866_TOP.jpg

These are two of the sweetest goats we've ever had, and have the same gentle disposition as their mother. I don't know if I've mentioned it before, but kids tend to take on personality traits of their mothers, whether they are raised by their mothers or not. Nature versus nurture? I think nature wins this one. They are gentle and loving and can be shy around people they don't know, but will cuddle with me all day if I let them.

IMG_20190201_130427189_HDR.jpg

In looking through the pictures to find good ones of these two, I realized that I have lots of cute ones of Toaster, but not many of Flapjack. Maybe he is self-conscious about his ear after all.

IMG_20170610_174824670.jpg

IMG_20190503_134848792 (1).jpg

These guys are the same age as the goats from the last several weeks of Meet the goats, but they are still much smaller than everybody else. Their mother is a dainty little thing compared to the rest of my girls, and I think that's why they are so tiny. I actually brought them home from the brush herd for about eight months after George lost his leg because we noticed that it was the younger, smaller goats who tend to break their legs. The older goats can just roll with the punches, and don't tend to get themselves in as much trouble.

IMG_20190504_123239067.jpg

Goats are supposed to reach their adult size by the time they're four years old, so these two will probably get a little bigger, but I think they will always be small. That's okay. I'm small too. They might be the only ones who will never accidentally push me off a cliff because they're trying to rub their heads against me. That happens more often than I would like!

IMG_1001.JPG

So that's it for the brush herd! I hope you enjoyed meeting my lovely boys!

Sort:  

These posts turn me into a mushball :)

They're so ...so... personable or some word like that. Hi Guys!

I'll have to get more goats so I can do more posts! I'm glad you like them. They really do have great personalities.

Posted using Partiko Android

More! Oh boy you'll need a goat wrangler herder crew to handle all those frisky chompers! ;)

Not sure what is cuter, the goats or their names... lol.. good job!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha! Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello..!!
@goat-girlz
They so truly look sweet....!!!!!!
Flapjack's ear adds a unique sweetness..♡
I much enjoy reading their individual stories...!!!
Love...love your gift for naming them.
:D

Naming them is one of my favorite things! I'm glad you agree about the ear. I think it's adorable.

Posted using Partiko Android

Look like these two would make great pets :-)

Awwww they are so cute!!!!

I did so enjoy meeting your brush herd. What great little workers they are and so cute. ♥️ U&R

Thank you so much! They are wonderful guys.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87