Just in time for the long weekend...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading5 years ago

Today did turn out to be a lot quieter than the last few days have been. However, that means this will be a very boring post!

I found an odd mushroom growing in the compost pile behind the barn this morning, so I guess this is my entry for Fungi Friday.

I went to check on the goats, and while I was there the fire chief showed up! Apparently the homeowner called him to see about the fire department using the house as a training opportunity. It's a bizarre house that had been added to for years until it makes no sense. She wants to tear it down and build something sane. I gave the chief a tour and got him to promise me that I can come watch when they set it on fire. I will take lots of pictures. I wish I could find a picture of the house. If you have ever heard of the Winchester house, you will get an idea.

The goats are doing well, but I fear I will have to move the fence during the weekend, which I was hoping to avoid.

Here's Panda staring into space and waiting for his close-up.

They love this willow tree! They have stripped the bark off of the smaller branches, but I always move them before they can kill the whole thing.

I can probably wait until Sunday to move the fence, but they will be cranky by then!

On a more annoying note, when I was milking this morning, I noticed Sweet Pea was limping. Sometimes they do that when their feet need a trim. I checked hers and they were fine, but her ankle felt warm. Sigh. It's possible she has a case of laminitis, but I won't be able to get her to the vet to confirm until Tuesday. That means a long boring weekend for her. She's the brown one in the middle.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Friday!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

There is something about burning houses, even for a good cause, that always seems kind of sad. Maybe I just have a negative association with fire - some of us are innately very afraid of it.

I would really like to be able to eat like a goat. Just eat anything. How convenient.

I agree! My sister in law used to be a volunteer firefighter and my husband went to a burn and learn. He took some great pictures that look apocalyptic and tragic. I liked one of them so much that he framed it for me and it hangs on the wall with all the family pictures. Years ago someone I had just met was visiting the house and looked at the wall and asked if all my family had died in a fire! It made me rethink my decor.

I do love this house, even with all its faults, and will be very sad to see it destroyed. The cost to repair it is overwhelming, so I understand the decision. I guess I'm just glad it will be helpful in its last moments instead of just disappearing.

I also wish I could eat like a goat. So much simpler!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol. That would be pretty terrible to frame a picture of an event where people had passed away. I suppose that person made the comment before thinking it through. I estimate about 75 percent of the people that join steemit have a bit of a dark persona. Not a bad thing, but just different. And the vast majority of them would have a picture of a burning building in their house too.

It would be horrible to frame the house fire that killed your whole family! Hahahaha! I agree that a lot of us have a vaguely dark side. Maybe that's the common thread? The shot was pretty artistic, though. And darkness comes naturally. ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello..!!!
@goat-girlz
I absolutely love the photo of Panda...!!🤩
The fire department in my area will also burn down old buildings for training.
Perfect spot for mushrooms.
I hadn't thought about goats getting
laminitis. I am familiar with horses getting it...:(
I hope you have a non-crazy weekend....!!!
:)

Goats definitely get laminitis! Sweet Pea is a big girl and that's when they tend to fall prey to it. She's eating more than she needs to because she's still lactating. I am trying to figure out how to dry her off without giving her yet another bout of mastitis. I am also hoping for a non crazy weekend!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi cutie Sweet Pea :)

What a great shot of Panda! I will forever wonder what he could be looking at off in distant space.

Cool looking fungi!

He's clearly thinking deep thoughts, probably about his place in the universe.

Posted using Partiko Android

Or else, with his keen eye sight, he spotted a ufo!

Ewww. That looks like what happened the last time my dog found cheese! Lol

What happens when a goat eats a mushroom? Do they avoid them?

Hahahaha! When my dogs find cheese I don't usually find any evidence! Goats will avoid mushrooms. Super helpful trait since there are so many different types and so many can be dangerous.

Thanks for the giggle!

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks! loved your fungi, and upped.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81