Holy humidity, Batman!

in #homesteading5 years ago

Today was another busy one. I started out by moving the goat fence at the house, which involved moving the puppy fence too, because they were sort of connected. Sometimes figuring out the fencing feels like trying to rig a ship blindfolded. I needed to move the fence where the larger group of goats is parked, but my son (who promised to help me) strolled in at 5:30 this morning, having been up all night. So no help there. I just fed them and went to check on the other group. They are maybe two days away from needing a fence move too. I gave them their minerals and baking soda, and got a few really cute pictures of them licking their lips after eating. It never stops being funny.

IMG_20190518_154914889.jpg

IMG_20190518_154907921.jpg

Frosty was the most cooperative for the camera.

IMG_20190518_154905006.jpg

I clipped some blackberry canes out of the way so they could reach the rest of them, which will buy me a little time.

IMG_20190518_154422261.jpg

After I did my errands in town, I went home and thought I would try again to get the kid out of bed. He said he was coming down, but half an hour later I still hadn't seen him, so my poor husband had to go move fence with me. He's not a big fan of goat chores. It was a pretty easy move, and I did the hard part. Here's the view as I was putting up the fence next to the barn.

IMG_20190518_174500098.jpg

Here's my path ahead, with the camera at eye level.

IMG_20190518_174503451.jpg

In a few days I will be able to see the side of the barn! The guys were super happy and bounced right into the grass as though they hadn't eaten in a week.

IMG_20190518_175210769.jpg

It won't take them long to polish that off, but they are content for now.

IMG_20190518_175147713.jpg

Here's the Where's Waldo shot of my invisible ninja goats.

IMG_20190518_175736398_HDR.jpg

It was really humid today, which meant that whenever I was working, I was sweating, but got chilled within ten minutes of sitting down. In spite of our very damp climate, we don't really have to deal with high humidity very often, for which I am grateful. Our weather station, which isn't necessarily accurate, says it's 80 percent. That's a little high for me.

For anyone following the saga of Bear, the puppy my friend wants to adopt, I stopped by her house yesterday assuming I would be picking him up after his two night slumber party. She wasn't home, but I chatted with her husband for a while before casually saying, "I guess I should take Bear home, unless you want him for another night." He said, "Well, you can leave him. If we're keeping him it just makes sense." So we scored a victory! Bear has a new home, the one we wanted him to have, and his brother has someone to play with!

IMG_20190430_143622073_HDR.jpg

I am going to do the evening chores now, and then sink into the couch until the next crisis arises. Probably when the humans start getting hungry.

Sort:  

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Oh look at those sassy goats Lol... and puppies... it's so nice... i'm with your husband on the working hee hee

Ya! Me too! It’s VeRRY HoT SBD HuMiD here today! I can hardly sit down to enjoy my tea!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Happy goats! I hope the weather becomes more comfortable before you have much more physical work that needs doing.

I would love to have goats and some chickens but it looks a lot harder than taking care of 11 indoor cats....

Harder in some ways, I imagine. Easier in others. There's something nice about being able to retreat to the house! Although that doesn't work so well these days with all the puppies. :) The chaos is everywhere.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol - Nice goat portraits!

I don't know who could see a puppy and not have to take it home...

I know! They're so cute!

Posted using Partiko Android

Frosty's awesome. It's always nice when the animals cooperate in such an helpful way.

It's nice but unusual! I have so many blurry pictures of animals. Or just an ear because they moved out of the frame right as the camera clicked.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74