Flowers and tedium

in #homesteading5 years ago

It's been a couple of days since I posted anything, and I don't really have time to do it today, so I am just going to post pictures of flowers. While attractive, they are not indicative of what's been going on in my life the last few days, but they are much more pleasant to look at.

IMG_20190719_200923984.jpg

The extra two puppies left on Sunday night, and I was actually a little shocked at how quiet Monday morning was! I knew some of the chaos would be gone, but the whole house felt bathed in Zen-like calm. It's only a matter of perspective, of course. By this time next week, I will be back to feeling like everything is crazy all the time.

IMG_20190727_111541216_HDR.jpg

Since I'm having company in a couple of days, I am frantically trying to make the house look a little less like post-tornado trailer park and more like a place where people live. It is not an easy task.

IMG_20190719_200845256_HDR.jpg

The goats are pretty well set up for snacks for a while, but I will have to go clip the tall stuff for the large herd tomorrow, since they can't reach anything anymore. It would be much easier if I could go early in the morning, but I have to pasteurize tomorrow, which keeps me at home until at least 10:30, by which time the sun has started melting everything and all I can do is get through it.

IMG_20190727_111742340.jpg

Once I get things back to whatever passes for normal around the house, I am hoping that I will have some time to come up with something more interesting to post about. Housework does not inspire.

IMG_20190727_102035606.jpg

That last picture used to be a little violet-like flower, and now it has gone to seed. I've had these in my garden for years and never noticed this part of their life cycle. It looks like little pearls.

IMG_20190719_200731405_HDR.jpg

The borage isn't mine. I keep meaning to plant some, because the bees really like it, but somehow I have never gotten around to it. It's so pretty that I really should make an effort.

IMG_20190728_170016860.jpg

This is a tomato shot through a vase of flowers. I liked the little bubbles on the inside of the vase.

I will close with a picture of Yoda with his head in the milk bucket. For anyone worried about hygiene, the milk is in the milk tote and he's just licking the filter.

IMG_20190618_082825670.jpg

Have a great day, everyone!

Sort:  

I hate housework so that's why I don't do much. I tend to wait until I get visitors - it's marvellous how much tidying up you can do in the half an hour before they turn up!

That's my whole philosophy! My mom always says you should have company once a month so you'll clean the house. I figure I just need friends who don't care!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, sounds familiar. I always hope the visitors don't open any cupboards...They might get covered in all the things we've hastily thrown in there!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nobody is allowed in my closets! They're hazardous! I'm glad I'm not the only one who panic cleans.

Posted using Partiko Android

Panic-tidying is my middle name. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 comments. Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @goat-girlz,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

These are wonderfully fab! :)

Thank you so very much!

You're very welcome!

What a cool selection of beautiful flowers and I bet Yoda enjoys the milk from the pail :)

I don't perticulary like house-work. Pretty flowers, though!! And what kind of cat is Yoda?? If Yoda's even a cat, I mean... xD ♥♥♥ Love, Princess SnekLady

I don't like housework either! Yoda is just an orange tabby. He's my special baby, though.

Posted using Partiko Android

I like that last flower photo, with its head in the bucket! I don't suppose goat stilts work well, eh? Do the goats like to eat flowers?

I've never tried goat stilts. I'm trying to picture that in my head. They definitely like to eat flowers! Woe to any roses in their zip code!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great pictures as always, I am with you on housework, I'd much rather be outside digging in the dirt, then cleaning the dirt inside.

                                 always

Amazing photos! How do you find the time to take such fabulous pix?
Those pearls are so beautiful!
And your writing is so darn funny as usual:
I am frantically trying to make the house look a little less like post-tornado trailer park and more like a place where people live. It is not an easy task. My house generally looks like senior year college dorm.
I hope your house guests thought your home looked swell.

You are far too kind! Thank you! The house was presentable enough that I wasn't embarrassed to have people in it. The tornado has temporarily decamped, but it's only a matter of time before it comes back with the fury of a thousand suns.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50