Deeply ambivalent

in #homesteading6 years ago

I have had another typical February day. Cold and fairly uneventful. We do have lots of adorable creatures cavorting all over the house, but they have started on solid food, and all the mess that implies. I wish I could have gotten a picture of their first foray into non-mom food, but they were like a school of furry piranhas and had eaten everything before I could focus the camera.

IMG_20190220_172929569.jpg

That's one satisfied puppy!

In lieu of any super interesting goings-on, I thought I would post some pictures I found while digging through my archives. I have always found the warning stickers on farm equipment hilarious, even though I know that they probably started putting them on the equipment in the first place for the same reason McDonald's coffee now warns you that it is hot. Somebody did it.

IMG_6106.JPG

Don't use your tractor as a trebuchet! It could go badly!

IMG_6105.JPG

Don't use your tractor to wring out your clothes while you are still wearing them! Results may vary!

IMG_20190221_194316807.jpg

This one was on a box of sterile wipes at an endodontist's office. I think I know what they're trying to say, but the anti-family message comes through louder. This sticker has been taped to my dishwasher for several years. Never fails to amuse.

This is just a foggy winter shot of the Columbia river. The sun is making a brave attempt at an appearance, but has ultimately failed. This is why February is so challenging. The weather just won't commit!

IMG_20180204_112124080_HDR.jpg

Only a week left until March!

Sort:  

pocketsend:11@goat-girlz, play around with the token of fun - POCKET!

Successful Send of 11
Sending Account: pode
Receiving Account: goat-girlz
New sending account balance: 91521
New receiving account balance: 10
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: aa1e254e69c469400256e9c616e14e040a94d2eb
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and I am running this confirming code.

Love the puppy, of course!
Also love the picture of the river. You make me miss it - though I don't miss the mud!

Most of the mud is in my yard. Everything else is ok.

Posted using Partiko Android

Farms are supposed to be muddy. :-)

Mine used to have grass before the birds started to multiply.

Posted using Partiko Android

I read once about using chickenwire or something to keep them from scratching all of it up - it can be used to give parts of the ground enough rest to let it grow grass again, then you rotate it around... Like aviary panels...

We actually bought electric poultry netting so we could fence them out and reseed. They flew over it, ate all the grass seed, and had to be rescued because they couldn't figure out how to fly back out. They're only smart when they want to be!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha! Chickens are hilarious!

No, it was that the aviary panel would be laid down on the ground - so they could eat the longer grass, but not scratch it up. It looked like an interesting possibility.

I'll have to try that. Or everyone is going to freezer camp!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 comments. Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@blocktrades Thanks for your upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71