All the goats have new snacks!

in #homesteading5 years ago

All the goats were in desperate need of new browsing opportunities, and my grand plan yesterday was to take care of both groups in one day. Sometimes I get a little delusional when I'm drinking my tea and the sun isn't up yet. I didn't get to leave the house until 12:30 because I spent the morning hand addressing boil water notices to everyone in the water district of which I am the secretary. Sigh. Never a good start to the day. I took one of the puppies over to my friend's house because she said her puppy was bored and needed a play date. We're trying to convince her husband that they need to adopt a second one, and this is part of our evil plan: make him fall in love. I finally made it to the smaller group, who needed me to move the trailer. It went really smoothly, considering this was the first time I have moved a trailer by myself. I usually have a spotter, and someone to help pick up all the fence.

IMG_20190515_143948731.jpg

They are very happy with their new parking spot. Usually when I stop by to check on them, they get a little whiny when I leave. New snacks day is the exception. I don't think they even notice I've gone.

IMG_20190515_143958772.jpg

One little hiccup with moving the trailer: The bent metal bar that keeps the back doors closed was missing. I looked everywhere and couldn't find it. I can't take it on the road until I replace it, but to move it a hundred yards, I just needed what we call the farmer fix. Use whatever is lying around. Sometimes the farmer fix becomes the permanent fix if it works well enough. This one won't. I used a bent tine from a hay rake.

IMG_20190515_134330663.jpg

I went back to get little Bear from his playdate and we decided to try a sleepover! I left him there and went into town to mail my huge stack of notices, and then out to move the fence for the larger group. By this time it was getting close to 4:30, and they were very cranky. I hadn't been there to feed them on time, and it was raining. I've rarely seen such offended goats. I was pretty wiped out by this time, so I just scooted the fence a little to give them enough grass to work on for the evening that they could survive until I got there today. I added another hundred feet of fence this morning, which made them ever so happy!

IMG_20190516_123904406.jpg

In this shot you can see where the fence was against all the new grass. They are pretty thorough.

IMG_20190516_123919337.jpg

It was a pretty easy job, all things considered. Except that the grass is wet and interspersed with stinging nettles, which I can't always see until after I have raked my hands across them.

IMG_20190516_123948151.jpg

In the above picture, I had my head at about fence height. The fence is 42 inches tall, and the grass is quite a bit taller. I'm just a smidge above five feet, so it can feel a lot like swimming in a vaguely hostile green ocean when I'm trudging through all that lugging a fence. Also, the grass was soaking wet, and by the time I got the fence up, so was I. It was a balmy 63 degrees today, though, so I didn't mind too much. At least the water keeps the pollen out of the air. It's really miserable to be setting up fence in grass when the seed heads are at face height. I know I've got fifteen minutes tops to get the job done before the sneezing begins.

I went back to get Bear and we decided to leave him for a second night. That's great news for me. It means I'm 25% less crazy! I drove out to visit a friend who has two sets of twin lambs, and I'm feeling the need to see babies. Unfortunately, the moms weren't so happy with visitors, and kept the little darlings well out of camera range (man, I need a zoom lens). On my way home, though, I saw a pair of Canada geese with their sweet, fluffy little goslings.

IMG_20190516_145944285.jpg

Even though it took me two days, everybody is happy and will be well fed for at least seventy two hours. Then I will have to do it all again!

IMG_20190516_123906846.jpg

Sort:  

I love your posts!! I used to have goats years ago and still miss them. I'm living vicariously thru you and your animal posts. Blessings.

Thank you! I am sending goat hugs your way.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've rarely seen such offended goats. lol
I feel soaking wet myself, and can feel the sting of future grass swipes on my face. You gave us a very vivid account of both your resourcefulness and your day. Thanks for finding the time. I gotta drink that tea! Did you post about it?
I hope he decides to take another dog. Two dogs is definitely better than one.

Thank you! I'm never sure if people will find my day interesting or just roll their eyes and mumble "She's yapping about the goats again!" The tea I drink every day is a Chinese green tea called Dragonwell. It's gentle and wonderful and a little grassy. You should try it if you're a tea drinker. The difficulty with getting my friend's husband to agree to a second puppy is that they have an elderly dog and two middle-aged dogs, so this would make five. The elderly one is not expected to last too much longer, which is very sad.

Posted using Partiko Android

ARE YOU KIDDING? Never sure others will find you fascinating, engaging, entertaining? Your posts are packed full of more than I can respond to (who else can do that besides @crescendoofpeace!). Line after line is priceless, e.g. trying to convince her husband that they need to adopt a second one, and this is part of our evil plan: make him fall in love. And the need to boil water - to alert residents their drinking water is unsafe - that could become a whole new thread (and a book too). I love reading about your day, and your goats, and anything else you care to share! Let us know if the death of the old neighbor dog inspires them to adopt this new one. :)

Thank you so much! You are so sweet. And it feels like such high praise coming from a fabulous writer like you.

Posted using Partiko Android

oh that is very sad. I can understand not wanting another just yet. oh!
I love hearing about your day. It's beautiful.

I too get a little delusional with the expectations in the morning. As a result I stay up half the night writing and then sleep in ;)

I like the farmer fix. Efficiency is always respectable.

If only... I woke up at 3:00 this morning because the smoke detector was beeping. I've been up ever since. Sleeping in is something I dream about during the few hours I'm actually asleep.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol. Sleeping in certainly is a sweet dream. I wish you luck on a good night's rest.

Another light work day for the Goat-girl :-)

Hahahaha! It wasn't too bad. Mostly painless.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahaha! Mostly painless, except for the nettles.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're a great story teller! I love seeing this far off kingdom of green and goats and geese and puppies and more.

Thank you! Your kingdom is blue and white, at least in my head. Mine is definitely green!

Posted using Partiko Android

You get more things done in a day than I would have in a year. Girl, where do you get your energy. I am in desperate need of some of that. :-)

Water Alert, and you snail-mail the notices?
Doesn't everyone have a phone? Email? Or is this a backup plan to cover all your bases getting everyone alerted?

I called everyone first, but we're legally required to send paper notices as well. When the test comes back I have to do it all in reverse. It makes for a very long day!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yay!!! Go Bear!!! ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing your day, @goat-girlz. I hope those goats realize how lucky they are with you taking such good care of them. 💕

I hope they do too! They do like to hang out with me, but mostly they're excited about food!

Posted using Partiko Android

Love this post!

I'm another one "missing the goats we used to have," and it's lovely to read of someone else who is doing it right. Your girls are lucky to have you. ;-)

Here's hoping that Bear gets adopted as planned. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much! Bear did get adopted as planned! It didn't take as long as we thought it might.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94