A Saturday ramble

in #homesteading5 years ago

Yesterday was a pretty good day. My son and I delivered the last puppy (aside from the two we're keeping) to his new home. The new owners were very happy to see him, but he will have to make friends with their older dog.

IMG_20190525_122705440.jpg

I tried to get some really cute puppy photos, but he kept trying to hide behind me. He got to meet horses for the first time, which freaked him out a little.

IMG_20190525_124529563.jpg

The gray one is almost totally blind, so the little dog will have to learn to stay out of his way or he will get stepped on!

IMG_20190525_124540495_TOP.jpg

There were a few tears from me when we had to say goodbye. I have been ready to return to a reasonable number of dogs for weeks, but the longer we had Scotty, the more attached I got, in spite of my efforts not to. I can't help it. I fall in love with animals easily and have a very hard time letting go.

We checked on the goats on the way home, and they were a little cranky because it rained all day yesterday.

IMG_20190525_131358606_HDR.jpg

They don't look hungry, though, so I told them to suck it up and go out in the rain like the rest of us. They totally ignored me and went back to napping in their trailer.

IMG_20190525_131409155.jpg

Later in the afternoon we took our two puppies to the family farm for a visit, since a lot of the family is visiting for the long weekend. We went for a walk along the river, but the tide was coming in and the wind was pretty brutal, so it wasn't a very long walk.

IMG_20190525_163828754.jpg

We had to keep the puppies on leashes (which they hated) because we didn't bring their mom along and we weren't sure they would stay with us and I certainly can't run as fast as they can. They did get to meet cows for the first time, and much barking ensued!

IMG_20190525_171622700_HDR.jpg

IMG_20190525_172030149.jpg

The surprise part of the evening was finding two tiny kittens in an old motor home! Their mother must have moved them there because it was cozy, but it got closed back up while she was out and she couldn't find her way back to her babies. They were pretty hungry and scared. We gave them some dog food soaked in hot water just to give them something to eat, and we put them back where we found them. We left the door open, hoping their mother will come back and feed them.

IMG_20190525_180257919_HDR.jpg

If she's not back today, we will have to do something. I can't adopt more kittens, no matter how cute they are, but I'm sure I can find someone who will take them. They are still really tiny and probably not ready for solid food yet.

The puppies were pretty tired by the time we got home, as was I. We're going back to the farm today, but we will either leave the puppies at home or bring the big dogs to babysit!

IMG_20190526_065927402.jpg

Sort:  

Love the shot of the scared puppy checking out the cows! And darling kittens. I bet it was hard to leave the last puppy. You have such a kind and loving heart!

My heart gets me into so much trouble!

Posted using Partiko Android

I understand how that happens!

Wow! Quite a long day! Lots of activities! I do hope the mother cat gets back to her kittens!

Your goat look quite stubborn!

Posted using Partiko iOS

White feet puppies are won't to melt even the coldest of hearts.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree! They're irresistible!

Posted using Partiko Android

The area you live in looks wonderful. Love all the farms and the lushness.

I fall i love with all your animals and i've never even seen them in person. Ohhh boy mushy mushy :)

You're as bad as I am! I fall in love with everything too. Then I have to feed them!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's always lovely hearing about your life.
Those kittens are wandering around, so at least 4 weeks old and ready (actually require) additional food, so it's good.

I totally forgot that you are the kitten whisperer! I'll let you know how they are doing today and probably pester you with questions.

Posted using Partiko Android

Feel free. :-)
I made most of the mistakes early on and have a fairly good idea on kittens now.

Hello ...!!!! :D
@goat-girlz
I can't imagine you not shedding a tear saying goodbye to the puppy. That wouldn't be you..😘!!! Love. Looks like some great adventures there and plenty of room to run and explore :D
I hope momma kitty returns...!!!! If not I hope you can find someone to adopt them ..!!❤
Fantastic closing photo of a pooped out puppy....🤗....!!!!!!!
:)

You know me so well! Haha! It was nice to have feeding time a little calmer, and I'm sure he's settled in. All the best puppy shots are of them sleeping. That's the only time they hold still!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello @goat-girlz!

Congratulations! Thanks for using the #dogsofsteemit hashtag! This post has been chosen as one of the winners for Episode 72 of the #dogsofsteemit challenge.

Can't wait to see more dog photos from you!

Thank you! I have lots of dog photos!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43