Thinking inside the Box.....Grow your Chicken Feed Indoors all winter, and SAVE $steemCreated with Sketch.

As I was enjoying my coffee by my garden's this morning I was thinking ahead, as I always do, and I was thinking about what I was going to start to plant for the winter months, and the space requirements I have in both my cold frames and my indoor greenhouse. By starting your own seeds, every 2 weeks you should have an ample supply of cheap and easy chicken feed that is healthy for your chickens.

What you would need are:
fodder Seeds (I prefer Barley)
Trays
Soil or your own compost

Start the seeds as you would normally do with any other seeds (vegetable etc) then at about 2" high add just a little liquid fertilizer and then at 4-6" set the trays out to the chickens and let them have at it.

If any of you have any great idea's about growing your own Fodder, please share the wealth of your knowledge.

Happy Trails

Fodder.jpg

Image Sources:
https://www.peakprosperity.com/wsidblog/80359/diy-home-fodder-system?page=1

Sort:  

This is awesome post thank you for posting this looks very interesting and this is incredibleI upvoted you .
Upvote and follow @jack123

@jack123, I see you have copied/pasted this exact comment on many articles, this is considered spam. Please form genuine and different responses for articles (WITHOUT self promotion) in order to avoid being reported to @steemcleaners.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to chickens. Where would I go to buy fodder seeds? Thanks!! (and your chickens are cuties!)

You can order them online, orchard seeds or your seed catalogue that you would normally order from.

Ok great - I usually order from park seed, so i'll check it out - thanks for the tip! I have an old window i might try to repurpose into a frame....

You can get a large bag of WHOLE BARLEY from your local feed store. Very cheap. :)

Awesome! I have loads of chia seeds - do you know if they like chia sprouts?

I don't know that, but I bet Google does! ;)

That's like growing cat grass, which I think is just oats.

This would probably be so much cheaper than the organic feed we buy.

Great idea @gardengirlcanada - will definitely give it a try.

I wonder if it would grow well enough in the greenhouse over winter...

I don't see why not, they do grow in a cold frame

I bought a bag of barley from the feed store ($10-15, I can't remember) and some dish tubs ($3) from the dollar tree yesterday to work on this! Some people even just sprout the barley, too! I'd love to see your set up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75