RECYCLED, REPURPOSED......PRACTICLE GIFT IDEAS.....For the Busy Homestead....

If your like me you hate shopping. LOL and the idea of spending anymore time online except for STEEMIT of course, drives you bonkers. So I like to get creative and be frugal and give gifts that are practical and yet not time consuming to make. I will feature a new couple of projects each week until Christmas. So today the first of my project gifts is one that I make each year for my 3 kids. They typically misplace one of them each year, I swear they do it on purpose so they can get new ones. But here is the Sweater Mitts. I go to my local 2nd hand shop and I purchase some old sweaters, and some really nice and soft baby blankets. Then I just cut out a pattern of an adult hand and then slap it together.

Sweater Mitts.jpg

Now I would normally not have an abundant of time to sew these suckers so I use this all powerful almighty wonder of the world. LIQUID STICH. Works great.

liquid stich.jpg

I use a tube a month around here.
The next project that is relatively simple and you only need a few things. A board, some paint, and a few clothes pegs. I made this for my son's apartment this year. But hey some suggest that it is the "cool" in things to mismatch your socks theses days. I spend forever trying to match up socks. This will help win that battle.

missing sock gift.jpg

Well there you have it folks. Now go be frugal and give the gift that won't break the bank yet functional. Happy Christmas Trails

Sources:
Pinterest -sweater mitt pattern
Pinterest- Missing Sock sign
Liquid stitch is all me..LOL

Sort:  

Love it ! May make both projects and will definitely check out ..liquid stitch!
Have a great day!
Melissa

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Oh, how I hate shopping!

The sock board made me smile. I typically just leave my singles in the ironing basket to match up when the partner arrives, but some of them have been there for years! Lol!

Shopping is the most dreaded task. Even the odd trip to the grocery store makes me cringe. lol I haven't seen liquid stitch here. Looks like a handy ite to have around...

Swear by it! Walmart! Fabric land!

Oh yes! I hate shopping too. The only shopping I sort o resemble enjoyment out of is grocery shopping.

Never heard of Liquid Stitch before but it looks like it may be a good item to have on hand!

Walmart! Swear by it. Jeans ripped no prob.

I do like the sock board - never seen one of those before.

It’s kinda cute!

good skills i love this idea

thank you for the great ideas @gardengirlcanada. Upvoted.

I love the lost sock sign! I always have a little basket with several singles that have lost their mate. lol Did you use a stencil on wood?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65