Sort:  

I lalalalove fennel. I had no idea what I would do with it until I saw a British cooking show and the lady did three different dishes with it that looked ah-mazing, and I’ve grown it since then. None of my food looks like hers (I feel lucky if anything I cook looks like food at all) but fennel sure is tasty!

Cool!! What is your favorite dish to cook with fennel?

I guess I’d call it Fennel Chicken.
Brown a couple pounds of chicken, that you’ve salted, peppered and dusted with about 2 TB of flour, in some olive oil in a heavy pot or dutch oven. Once it’s good and brown, remove it and saute a couple cloves of minced garlic. Add a sliced red onion, a medium sized fennel bulb sliced real thin and a bay leaf to the pot. Pour in a cup of chicken broth, the original recipe calls for white wine of some sort, but I use chicken broth. Return the chicken to the pot and partially cover it with a lid and braise over low heat for about 20 min, and then check on it. If there’s still quite a bit of liquid, let it go another 10-15 minutes, until the liquid has turned into a sauce. In a bowl, mix 2 TB of creme fraiche and a little of the braising liquid to temper the creme fraiche, the stir it into what you’ve got going in the pot. Serve it up with a little chopped fennel leaf.

To make creme fraiche, combine a cup of whipping cream and 2 TB of buttermilk in a glass container and leave it to set at room temperature for 8-24 hours, or until it’s very thick. Stir it real good before you put a lid on it. Keep it in the fridge for a week or so.

That sounds so delicious!! I must try this next time I get my hands on some fennel and cream :) I am drooling thinking about what the sauce must taste like!

I wonder if I can hack into the frozen ground and dig up one of those fennel bulbs that didn’t get eaten last year...... lol It’s sounding pretty good to me right now too.

What an adventure!

Fennel seed is used a lot in indian curries... maybe look into that :) I've also made pesto with the fennel leaves and young stems. Some people don't like the anise flavor very much but if you do, you'd be in heaven!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61195.23
ETH 2975.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47