Homesteading.....There is an App for that....WHAT?

How did our grandparents ever have successful crops and manage the land without technology? Farming and homesteading is one of the only area's that has not evolved with the growing impact of technology. However, a little help along the way, never hurt. As most of us have cell phones, there is also many apps for the homesteader, beekeeper, gardener, etc. They are all fairly useful, if anything an education or a great resource in the field when a situation or question arises. LOL if you get signal out in the farmers field. Without further ado, here are the apps that I have adopted and use quite frequently to help me solve many challenges on the homestead.

man-field-smartphone-yellow.jpg

First up is the GARDEN-GUIDE. This is an information based app that tell you a bit about each fruit, or vegetable. It's care, and how to harvest, and the different types or species. It also has a troubleshoot section for common problems related to that fruit or vegetable. I give it a 4 out of 5 stars for functionality and in a pinch it is great.

Next is Medicinal Plants and Herbs. Although it does have annoying ads popping up, it is a great app. you search out your ailment for example acne, then it will describe the problem and what is acne and then give you a remedy to cure or ease it. I like it. I give it a 3 star out of 5 just because of the ad's popping up.

Count your Eggs is a good app to track how your egg production is doing over a period of time and sets historical data. This helps spot any laying trends in your backyard chickens, so you can make better predictions. I give this a 4 star as it is relatively simple, and yes you could always just have a calendar in the kitchen to track. LOL

Goat spot is the next app. This is an informative app that educates all aspects of goats. it reveals breeds, it has forums and offers help in the caring for goats and their health. I rate this a 4 star as well. I do not have a goat yet, but downloaded the app to learn as I am planning on getting goats as soon as I get my home on my property, doesn't hurt to be prepared now.

This one is hands down best app for any homesteader. THE WEATHER APP. of course the weather is everything to a farmer, gardener, homesteader. This app will send you a notification if a severe storm is fast approaching so that you can get off the field in time, or round up your chickens in time. Enough said about the value of this app. 5 star for sure.

Hope you found this post helpful and as always, PLEASE PLEASE share your experience with apps and what you like or some that you use.

Happy Trails

Sources:
http://mediashift.org/digitaled/

Sort:  

Very good, never thought About seeing if there was an app for my flowers Thank you :) following

Most useful post @gardengirlcanada, thank you.

Alas we have no mobile signal here in our part of rural west Wales, so please don't text me if you ever need a quick reply ;-)

We are still struggling to get anything beyond 2MB broadband so I'm guessing a good mobile signal here is still some way down the road (about 5 miles at present).

One weather related site I use on the web a lot to warn us of incoming lightning is https://www.lightningmaps.org - I don't know if there is an app version of this yet.

My only useful app on my phone is the Met Office (UK weather) but I only tend to use if for flyable weather :)

Awesome, and useful info as always!
I will be downloading Garden-Guide immediately.
Oh and for weather apps- Storm is awesome!
Upvoted and resteamed!
Thanks G.G.!
👍

Thank you

Congratulations @gardengirlcanada! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Considering my cell service is like 1992 AOL, I cant really use apps. Thank goodness I have a good home library Lol. I also have a good time when i go into town. My whole family brings their tablets so they can use the wifi in different places. Good post though!

They never had apps when I grew up on the farm. They had the farmers almanac .

Yeah, they also had real-life experience and common sense... But just look at us now! --- farming Facebook, YouTube and now Steemit! The rise of the Facebook Farmer who harvests clicks and eyeballs ....

It's a "Brave New World"....

I also agree a weather app is an invaluable tool! I just wish it didn't lie so much, lol. I never heard of the Goat app! I have 24 goats and do lots of youtube videos on my channel if you are interested in learning that way as well. Happpy Homesteading!

HAPPY HOMESTEADING! Upvoted!

Great article, thanks so much for sharing! We're moving to a new home soon and will have a clean garden slate to start working on, very exciting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92