Harvesting Seeds from The Garden and a Fall Garden Update

Today was a pulling weeds kinda day, and taking plants to hang for a few weeks to harvest the seeds from them. That is one of the more important tasks of the fall when gardening. I have planted one of my smaller raised beds with plants purely for the idea of letting it go to seed so that I can have more for next season. The following plants both out in the garden and in the house for my herbs, for winter.

Sept 27 Mint.jpg

This is my mint plant I use all winter. It is ready to harvest these stalks for their seeds for next year.

Sept 27 Oregano.jpg

This is my oregano, with a small bundle of seeds ready to put away.
Now going outside here are some of my plants ready for hanging.

Sept 27 Cilantro.jpg

This is my Cilantro. I love this fresh for my spaghetti sauces and I also use it when canning my Salsa.

Sept 27 Fennel.jpg

This is Fennel, if your not familiar with this plant, it tastes similar to leeks and it is a great addition to soups. I am just waiting a bit longer for this one before I hang it.

Sept 27 Lettuce.jpg

Ah Lettuce, Leaf lettuce to be precise. This has been ready for a little while, and will be hanging and harvesting what I can today for seed. I grow Lettuce all winter so these seeds will be put to good use in the next weeks when I plant the rest of my cold frames.

sept 27 broccoli.jpg

Lastly this is one of my broccoli plants that I allowed to go to seed. I will also be planting this for winter, and using the seeds. I am hanging this one to dry for a couple of weeks.

Here are just some photo's of what else is going on in the garden this late in the season.

Sept 27 strawberry.jpg

Lots of ever bearing Strawberries still coming.

sept 27 strawberries.jpg

Still have a few Cantalope trying to make the cut for this season. I am hopeful that they will be large enough before a couple good frost.

Sept 27 cantaluop.jpg

This little guy might not make it, but you never know, as it is in a raised bed.

Sept 27 baby canataloup.jpg

I am ready to snip some of these shallot onions off and put them away for planting in the spring.

Sept 27 Shallots.jpg

It is always nice to see this beauty Sedum with it's brilliant pink. It's just so pretty.

Sept 27 Sedum.jpg

Now the battle begins. As the squirrels are frantic to get their food stored for the winter, they are robbing my bird feeders, so I tried to put the plate thing on the top so they could not access the feeder but they just cracked the plate so back to the drawing board.

Sept 27 Bird Feeder.jpg

I put this ugly Owl up to scare not only the pigeon or seagulls but the squirrels too, not working for either of them. They are ruthless suckers.

Sept 27 Owl.jpg

These are my precious roses. They are considerably smaller this year than any of the past years that I have had them. It is interesting to watch how the climate affects the growth of plants. These roses were 2X this size at this time last year, but with so much rain all summer and very little sun, which roses thrive on, they are much smaller and not as abundant than year past.

Sept 27 Rose.jpg

Sept 27 Roses.jpg

So with all these strange and weird climate patterns that this world has experienced this season of growing here in Canada, I thought it was important to document all the time frames of development and growth right to the end of the plants usefulness of harvesting the seeds. Let's all pray that next season, will provide a very different story.

Happy Trails

Sort:  

right on girl check out some of my past post on my garden... i live in Oregon city OR and i have some of the richest soil iv ever seen..how ever with things like corn and melons you still need some organic & natural plant food to supplement. i did corn, watermelon, musk melon, strawberry patch that took up half my yard by now..(ever-baring strawberries that grow huge) mammoth sunflowers, chives, rose's(Red, white, pink, lavender) i grew actual lavender(year two) they got really big. what i wanted to say.. be carefull with that mint though.. like a strawberry plant they can spread like wild fire.. i still cant get rid of them and i have tried everything....ITS CRAZY

Welcome to steemit. Thanks for the tip on Mint. I do not ever grow it in my garden and only do it in containers because it is a creeper. I will absolutely go and check out your posts. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted and now following you. You should goto Slack and join the conversation with other Steemit homesteaders on the front porch.

Yeah watch out for mint, if it spreads like wildfire for me I can just imagine what it will do in both of your gardens. I've been know to have problems growing weeds. @gardengirlcanada, I'm impressed with the variety of plants you get to grow. BTW, doesn't fennel taste like licorice? @comfortgenius I was staying in Lake Oswego for a couple of months and drove thru your town. You must have a nice garden as I noticed that area gets quite a bit of rain. I'm jealous of both of you. Can either of you send me a truck load of your soil?

Yes there is a variety of Fennel that does taste like licorice. My soil is pure black earth mixed 1/4 sheep manure. Thank you for your kind words

Again, I'm envious.

Where about's are you located? Which country? @outwalking

I'm in the US in CA

ouch tough place to be right now. Praying for your safety between a nuke or an earthquake. Take care my friend

How can I make to praise you?? Such a nice garden... Really amazing... Red roses also glow up the beauty of garden... Thanks for sharing! Upvoted... And resteemed friend!

Thank you my friend for your kind words and the resteem. My garden is so important to me and my joy

Hope your lovely garden will glow up more, together with your effort day by day...

I've never seen lettuce go to seed, that was pretty interesting. Here in Southern California we have a year round growing season, so I need to get some seeds started soon for very early spring transplant.

Oh I love this!! We must be on the same page today! I just posted about saving green bean seeds! I love your pictures and explanations on how long you plans to hang things and when you cut them! So informative!! I cannot believe you still have strawberries! Praying next years harvest will bring some new excitement for you, and hope you get to use those seeds you worked hard producing!!

Too funny I just read and voted on your post about your green beans. The squirrels stole my strawberries and planted them into my other raised beds, so now I will have to control this. Thanks

Those rascals!! Forgive me if you said in your article, but where do you hang your produce to dry? I don't have the typical space that a normal size household does and the laundry room is the main hallway, so there is no way to hang without growing plants in the washer or bumping our heads every pass down the hall!

I hang them outside underneath my deck and from the rafters of my large 10 X 14 shed. I don't want the bugs brought in the house. Thanks

Congratulations @gardengirlcanada! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very nice! Keep up the good work!

A gardeners chores are never done...

This post has received a 0.44 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gardengirlcanada.

Thank You for the walk thru your garden, I enjoyed it.

Good post @gardengirlcanada, Discussing plantations and farming, I definitely like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60191.28
ETH 3302.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36