Canadian Christmas Traditions from Coast to Coast....Series....ending on Christmas Day.

Canada is a country that is built on the cultural diversity of many of it's immigrants over the decades. We have a strong existence of our First Nations people, as well, so I thought it only be fitting to identify the many traditions our country enjoy over the holiday season. Now there are many who do not participate in this holiday, and I can respect that. So lets dive in and reveal the first in my series of fact and tradition found in Canada.

Nova Scotia Flag.png

Let's visit Nova Scotia, (this is where I am from and my family is). The presence of the First Nations People can be found throughout the province. The Mi'kmaq People have many traditions they practice over the holiday season. As many practices have been adopted by the Mi'kmaq there are some that are unique to them, such as making a tobacco offering to the Creator, which is done in a ceremony outdoors before any gifts are opened.

smudge.jpg

After this ceremony, gifts would be opened, then a meal is prepared. Just before sitting to eat the great feast, a plate is traditionally taken outdoors and placed on the ground as an offering as well to the creator, thanking the creator for the bounty of the harvest and the meal.

Nova Scotia is known all over the world for it's Pine and Fir trees. One Christmas Canadian tradition is to send the largest, stately fir tree, of course grown in Nova Scotia, to the state of Maine ,Boston, USA because of the aid that was given during the disaster, known worldwide, as the Halifax Explosion. This tradition has carried on for many years. The American's in Boston, always love the Nova Scotian Christmas tree. It is placed in the city and then light during a ceremony to kick off the Christmas season.

Boston Tree.jpeg

Christmas over the decades has become so commercialized I thought it would be nice to reflect on the true essence of the season, instead of the commercial hype. Let's this Christmas focus on family and time spent together enjoying each other, good food from our garden's, and the beautiful snow. Get out there and build a "Snowman" together.

Happy "Snowy" Trails my friends

Sources:
Wikipedia Flag of Nova Scotia
http://brasdorindianvillagebandassociation.yolasite.com/smudging.php
http://atlantic.ctvnews.ca/nova-scotia-tree-arrives-in-boston-1.1041256

Sort:  

I would have to agree that Christmas has been overly commercialized. Here they start bring out the Christmas trees in the stores in September! Piped in Christmas music too. By November I am sick to death of Christmas. And I usually like Christmas...

Thanks for showing off my Province. I meet new Canadians on here everyday! 🍁

Oh wow your from NS too! Where bouts? Generally! @lyndsaybowes is from NS too. My home province! Were you aware of the topics I discussed! Now following! Thank you!!!

Yes I was aware and yep I follow Lyndsay too. I'm from Halifax, she's about 25 mins from me

I am from Lunenburg, Mahone Bay, Saint Margrets Bay area. I have family in all 3 places.

This post received a 20% vote by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

You can keep the snow, but i hope you and yours have a very merry Christmas and the best new year possible. :D

Thank you and I extend the same to you and your family. Oh Come on "Snow" has to be truly appreciated for it's beauty. Embrace it, go and sport a scarf, tuque, and mitts and jump in with 2 feet and "ENJOY". LOL

In the Northern Hemisphere the beginning of the days getting longer again, is a big deal! That's what I like to celebrate now :) :) :)

Yes that is something to celebrate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79