Building Stuff For the Homestead....Organization is Everything......Great IDEAS!

Yesterday I spent the day at the Wood Workshop of my neighbor just down the road, and we started building Christmas gifts and small projects that I need for the Homestead. I am sharing my ideas with you all, so that you can equally see the value in building these to help keep your homestead organized. As most of you know, it can be a very busy and chaotic time running a homestead at times, especially late fall early winter. I think some of these projects will help me to stay organized.

This picture of the boot rack will help with the kids boots staying dry, and mine too, when I am out collecting the vegetables from my winter garden, or just shoveling the snow. It seems my boots and mitts are always wet.

boot-rack-wellington-diy2_0.jpg

Last week I started another head of Celery to plant in my Bucket of soil indoors, hoping it will be ready for my Christmas Stuffing.

celery in bowl.jpg

This next project is one that I feel will help de-clutter my clothes closet just a little bit better. OK so it seems that I am a little O.C.D but actually I am not. I just like organization. This is kinda a cool projects. I am using this to store my summer pants, and my white summer dress pants. My kids will all also receive one of these in their closets as well. I want to teach them to think outside the box and always be searching for ways to make life just a little bit easier.

e3713c51bd40b250172a7c331e0ee1cd.jpg

This next project is simply a want. I have no stocking holder and just typically every year place them on the floor beside my tree, so I thought about it and found this example on Pinterest. It is simple, Rustic, and does the job. I also want to teach my kids that simple things can be beautiful and that they don't always need to be super expensive, to do the job. I love the look of this. So this is what we are building today. I will have my youngest daughter paint it later today.

f33cd5bafceef0a3b46b6fd3a8a5cd98.jpg

This next project is for Christmas Gifts. I have a few aunts and a mother who always seem to go over board every year decorating for Christmas so I am helping make these sled's. Again my daughter and I will paint them this afternoon. This picture is what we made last year for a friend of mine. I usually get a few days each November at the Wood Shop farmer up the road. I give him pickles and salsa I make, and he gives me wood and guidance on the saws, and the plans.

14542795_10209494468051997_420825648_n.jpg

This next picture is one of my basement shelves with some of my food stock, however I think it is too small, as I cannot put all my preserves on it, so I had last week my woodworking partner in crime, build me 2 of these larger storage shelves, to replace this one. This will get my apple sauces, stewed tomatoes, and jams off the floor that are currently sitting in a box.

food storage 2.jpg

Here are the 2 shelving units that he build for me this week. Now to get them installed in my home. They are made of Pine so they are relatively light weight. Today we install wheels on them so they can be more useful, and have flexibility to the positioning. Then we have to paint them. My daughter wants purple because it will match the basement floor. I was thinking, perhaps a golden oak, with a Varnish.

15218315_10210016506622635_441398827_n.jpg

So there you have it folks, a snap shot of my weekend ahead. Today is November 11 and it is Remembrance Day in my country. I will be attending our ceremony at the local Legion. We always have a parade with all the different Military members who come from our local base. It is a somber day, but worth the dedication to take note of the events and show my pride in being Canadian to support our troops.

Happy Trails

Image Credits:

The Boot Rack Pinterest
The pants rack Pinterest
The Stocking Holder Pinterest
The rest of the Pictures are my own.

Sort:  

So great you have a mentor and space nearby to work on these kinds of projects! I'm impressed with the variety and each of them looks professionally done. Nice work!

GREAT post and I love the two new shelving units! Those are awesome!
I could have about 12 of them in my office and put them to good use

We can never have enough we are women, of a homestead. LOL

Great post! I have NO wood working skills at all. It's certainly something I'd like to learn at a future date. I'm looking forward to seeing all your work, especially since those two shelving units are awesome!

good work done .... best and efficient use of available resources

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gardengirlcanada from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Those are some great posts. Sounds like those aunts will love the sleds.

I voted for both these posts, I know the other one was a posting issue / duplicate but I did not care, my SP is down because I have been cashing out each week for a month but I got a couple votes in posts that had not paid out.

Those projects are nice.

Will you be able to tell which pants are which from that sliding hanger for real though?

OCD trigger

LOL

Yes of course! Going with that idea of simplicity in my life, I own only 2 pairs of dress pants, 2 pairs of jeans, 2 pairs of my (love) roots sweat pants, and a pair of casual pant. That’s it that’s all. Why would someone need more?

Without getting into a lot of public details, I have been developing some pretty serious downsizing plans and been running it by a couple people.

I was very very close to exercising phase 1 of it when the car ran me over.

I am so sorry to hear. I will keep you in my prayers for a speedy recovery and much better days ahead. @barry dutton, my philosophy, if you have not touched it in 1 month (outside of seasonal) then it is simply no use to you. LOL ....call me crazy.

Thanks friend.

My favorite is the stocking holder. An old drawer, fill it with stuff, attach the coat rack hangers on the side. Brilliant. I love it. Painted any color with gold glitter or without. So cute! Love the shelves too! We always need more shelves.

I really like the pants rack, too. All pictures are great. Have you re-grown celery to the point of cutting fresh celery. I have tried that in the past and will get some small new growth, but never enough to actually use in a recipe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11