You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time Management on the Homestead

in #homesteading7 years ago

What a wonderful and thoughtful post. I agree with you on all accounts.

Youtube was a time suck for me as we only have that and Netflix.

One of the things people keep saying to us is that we won't have time to do the things we want once we get a homestead. I too am working 8 hours/day and we have a child. I share the same dream of one day staying home and providing by producing at home.

I don't keep the Sabbath very well though. We didn't grow up in families that kept the Sabbath, in fact, Saturday and Sunday were times my parents did almost all their gardening because that was 'when they had the time'. I would love a post on what you do and don't do on the Sabbath. I could use as many details as you are willing to share.

Sort:  

Thank you @frugallady, Melissa sure did write a great article. I'm bless to have her.

It's our goal to encourage everyone to consider the homesteading lifestyle because the simple fact is, it brings families together. It is so nice to be out in the garden in the cool of the day working with Melissa, it's our daily communion with each other and to God.

Thank you for sharing about your faith. Melissa didn't grow up in a Saturday Sabbath keeping church but the church she did attend followed very similar restrictions that I had when I was growing up in one. We personally believe that the Sabbath was made for us and not the other way around. We don’t proselytize our belief but we do share it casually with others if asked.

The most interesting part of being a homesteader is that we’ve already simplified our lifestyle to a point that goes hand in hand with celebrating Sabbath. In my opinion the Sabbath commandment is actually two commandments, one to rest from your work and the other is that you must work the other 6 days. So at the end of the week we can figuratively walk in our garden and enjoy the work of our hands while enjoying the gift of a day of communion with God.

Thank you for your reply. I guess what I'm struggling the most with is the balance between the work that must be done every day, even on the Sabbath and the work that shouldn't be done on that day.
Anyway, I really enjoyed the post.

You're welcome @frugallady. Here is a short but simple video that may help answer your question, please watch it and pray for guidance. I don't agree with the speaker singling out two Sabbath keeping churches but I do agree with the context of the teaching about what can and can't be done on the Sabbath. The end of the video is kind of provocative and I don't think it appropriate for answering your question.

I've watched the video a couple of times now and will continue to pray for clarification. What stood out to me, was where it said no work, no causing others to work (even animals) and no buying or selling. I think that may actually be the general guideline I was hoping for. The only Sabbath I have been familiar with is a strict Jewish one, with many, very detailed explanations of what was and wasn't okay to do. The guideline above is much more in line with the 'made for man'-principle, that I completely agree with.
Thank you again.

I'm so glad it was helpful @frugallady , God bless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62596.14
ETH 3021.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65