You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Grand Reveal Of The Eco-Build Workshop Challenge Final Day - "Build a tiny Earthship in under 2 weeks on a $3,000 budget with 30 unskilled volunteers!"

in #homesteading7 years ago

That looks very nice. I can't believe you did it in two weeks and for so little, very impressive. :D Well done and congratulations to you all on the hard work and your final product. :D In the first and third picture, what is the brown box thing on the left of where you're sitting? What is the pipe on the right in the last picture for if there isn't any plumbing? Is it drainage of some sort? Great post thank you for sharing, great job, I can't wait to see your next one. :D Have an awesome day! :D

Sort:  

Great questions, and thank you for reading this so well!
Here are the answers!

The brown box thing contains a battery and inverter.. It was used to power a fan inside to blow hot air out. IT doesnt have a solar panel, but the battery charges from the mains power.

That pipe, WELL SPOTTED BATMAN! is actually one of 6 cooling tubes that feed cool air into the earthship. I couldn't get the right type of pipe, which should be 12" or 18" diameter for effective cooling.. therefore i didn't want to draw too much attention to it! I did talk a bit about it in one of the earlier posts.

Thanks for your support, yes next one will be even more cool!
;-)

Oh my daughter is going to love that comment "WELL SPOTTED BATMAN!", she is always going around saying "I'M BATMAN!", LOL. :D I'll have to remember to show it to her. :D The only reason I spotted it is because of the difference in color from the brown/beige of the clay and the grey of the pipe. Have you thought of coating the pipe with a light layer of clay as well, just to help blend it in? I'm not sure how the piping works, whether its drawing cool air out of the ground, or something else, so that may not even be feasible, but its a thought. :D

I will have to go through and look at your earlier posts to see this at the different stages, I love seeing those kind of posts. :D

You're welcome, I'm looking forward to seeing the next one. :D Have an awesome day! :D

thanks for that! Yes we could have totally just painted the pipe brown and leave it at that.. mud wouldn't stick to it but paint would help...

there is a good post on the cooling system and how it works somewhere in there! I added a picture of how is SHOULD be done so you can see..

<3

I will look for that post on how the cooling system works. :D It will be quite interesting to see. My husband is always looking for things that could and would work here on the homestead that will save us money, etc...perhaps we'll find something in one of your posts. :D God bless and have an awesome day! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65974.40
ETH 2637.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67