You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Farm update, December 2018.

in #homesteading6 years ago

Wow, beautiful farm and tasty photos! This makes me miss the mediterranean climate so much! We were very seriously considering buying land on some mediterranean island, but as you saw, I just decided buying land in Denmark instead... I just really needed to be close to my family and network after traveling so much, butr gosh it's been a hard decision since growing season is so short here and I loooong for those olives, tangerines, avocados and so on! I spend a lot of time on Crete too a few years back. Lived in the caves in Matala for 2½ months!
Where about is your farm?

Sort:  

Ha ha the caves at Matala were my childhood playground when I was visiting the grandparents :)
Haven't been there for more than 20 years though. I was under the impression that there is a fence now and no one can actually live there.
I can imagine that the Mediterranean climate is tempting but I am sure that Denmark has its advantages too. We can't have it all in our way :)
Anyway I live on the northeast side of the island. If you feel like it you can check out this post, it is full of information and links about how I ended up here and my approach on the "leaving the city" subject!
Thank you for stopping by :)

Oh yes, we didn't live in the roman caves - though you could easily access them when I was there, but there was some kind of fence yes.. The caves we lived in are "behind" the village, on the way to "the red beach". there were people who had stayed there for 5 years or more!
Actually I remember now, I did sleep one night in those roman caves - but it was a bit creepy as they are supposed to be graves..! the other caves are just natural ones.
I'll check out your post - if you want you can read my post about matala too here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34