You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflection: Death on the Farmstead

in #homesteading7 years ago

Life is life, and death is never easy. Especially on a homestead. We have had our share of death (dog,chickens,rabbits) We finally quit raising rabbits because I couldn't handle the idea that I was simply raising them to die. We all feel it somehow. Be well!

Sort:  

We haven’t harvested from our birds yet but it’s bound to come and I have no idea how I am going to feel about it!

I’ve had a chicken die, a couple quail, some hatchlings that needed to be culled because of deformities, but I think since I dealt with this death, maybe I hardened up a little to deal with it. I’m not sure. Maybe feathered creatures just aren’t as deep for my heart. I’m thankful for that.

Do you raise any of your own meat then? Or is it too difficult? Either way, no judgements from me!! I’m purely curious.

Actually I haven't eaten meat in 6 1/2 years. We were raising the rabbits for manure and to sell locally...try to provide a better meat and not mcdonalds. For me it got too much. If I don't need to eat it...i didn't need to raise it to die. I would never tell anyone how to live, be or eat. I am 6 '5 260lbs, with zero signs of anything negative you hear about vegans. I am a huge advocate of people eating responsibly. Knowing where your food comes from and how it is raised...meat and veg.

I get it! I wouldn't want to do that either if I were a vegetarian or vegan of any sorts. Hell, I haven't yet found out if I can do it as a meat-eater! Haha. You had the right intentions, but it wasn't right for your life, and that's okay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64167.02
ETH 2769.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67