Custom knife finished 12-12-19

in #homesteading5 years ago

When it comes to what I post about on Steem, I love to share my hobbies and crafts. Recently I have reestablished a knife making shop, and the juices are flowing.

I have been having such a great time creating and sharing my craft with the world. I am pleased to announce that I have mailed out my first blade, and now I am posting about the next in line.

This rough and tumble piece is designed using a piece of sawblade. It is handled with maple (from the farm we are on) and zebra wood. I love the contrast between the light and the dark. I also really like the contrast between the super clean handle and the distressed steel.

When it comes to the knife making process, I am in it for the art. Like I have said in previous posts, I ensure the science of it, but then let the art take over. I make sure that the steel is heat treated correctly, and that the handles are epoxied correctly, and then let the art process just take off.

I have been looking around at alot of knife making information and I have noticed something. In a catalog I got with my steel, I saw that you can order blades that are already razor sharp and all you have to do is add the handle material.....

I would like to say that my blades are hand made. I take an ordinary piece of steel and turn it into a knife blade, and then completely shape the handle by hand. I love when there is something that is not quite "right". Like a piece of the handle not lining up, or the bevels being not quite the same. I think it adds that extra bit of personality, and that's what I am about.

I hope you all enjoy these posts of my creations, and I look forward to hearing from you in the comments below!

Be well
~The Yeti

Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/zyqFjJ3

https://steemit.com/@freedompoint

https://twitter.com/the_alpha_yeti

https://www.instagram.com/thealphayeti/

k3.jpg

k1.jpg

k2.jpg

fpforgegif.gif

Sort:  

That seems like a very solid knife. Where did you learn this craft?

Thank you. Years ago I went to school to learn about metal, but have only been making knives for about 4 or 5 years. I wanted a couple of videos, and taught myself. I ask people alot of questions, so I got tips from experienced knife makers as well.

Cool, would like to learn some of this craft. I guess I'll start by checking out some videos!

Awesome work. I agree, there is something really great to be said for hand crafted quality items. I hope you're able to keep doing what you're doing.

Thank you. As far as I can tell I should be able to keep going...atleast for a while haha

A work of art. I’ll send you my postal address, please wrap it up tightly. 😬

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha! I have some new 5160 steel that is cooling now. I hope to put together something really cool next!

👀

Watching...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74