You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did some bud grafting on my apple tree today, with Step by Step directions.

in #homesteading6 years ago

This would come in handy because you need two different types of apples to be able to pollinate correct?
I think I will try this with my avocado - if it recovers from the morning glory attack.
great post!

Sort:  

You are right that you can create a self pollinating once you have a large enough portion of the new tree growing. It really is a lot of fun to do.

I have no idea how this tree is still living and producing apples. It has been like this for about 3 years. There is no center of the tree only bark.

IMG_5072.JPG
IMG_5070.JPG
IMG_5073.JPG

Interestingly the bark is the only part alive on the tree. The center is not longer living or needed. Just for support, you could stake it if it needs some help.
Otherwise your tree needs some serious pruning from what I can see.

Interesting, however, not quite accurate. The three layers under the bark are the living parts. Cambium is the center layer. The layer on the outside of the cambium is phloem, which transports materials produced by photosynthesis from the top to the roots. When the phloem dies it becomes bark. The inside layer is called xylem. It's purpose is to transport water from the roots to treetop. When the xylem dies it becomes wood.
The tree belongs to a lady I work for. She never believes the tree will still be standing to the next season, but it does. We had such sever heat this summer most of the apples are burnt.

I guess your right, a real tree expert man! Still a very impressive tree.

woman, that's ok everyone makes that mistake. I looked it up because I got to thinking about trees that you debark like eucalyptus and such. So, if bark were the only living part then you would kill it.
With all the gophers on the property, I am surprised anything is standing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36