HOMESTEADING Goal Post 6/23/17 UPDATE! How'd I do this week?

in #homesteading7 years ago

Ugh. That's all I have to say haha. It has been wet the past few days which means minimal work in the garden and around the property! Also, our standardized testing took WAY longer than I wanted to spend on it, but I learned a few valuable insights to how my children learn! It was our first go at standardized testing here at home, as we are new to homeschooling.

Here is some of what I PLANNED to accomplish this past week:

IN THE GARDEN

[ ] Re-treat garden with neem oil and Bt (RAINED OUT)
[ ] Pull weeds for 30 minutes PER DAY no excuses! (So much for no excuses 😜)
[ ] Fertilize with fish emulsion & Epsom salt (RAINED OUT)
☑️ Make pickled jalapenos with the excess 'peno harvest
☑️ Pull up remaining crookneck squash, lost to powdery mildew
[ ] Treat winter squash with milk solution (RAINED OUT, winter squash is a goner 😥)
☑️ Start planning fall garden and order seeds if needed

HOMESCHOOL

☑️ Finish standardized testing by 6/28 and mail
[ ] Type up end of year progress reports and file
☑️ Prep for summer schedule - aim to start first week of July!
☑️ Library visit
☑️ Summer reading program progress

HOMESTEAD

☑️ Make another batch of laundry soap
☑️ Air-dry clothes all week
[ ] Harvest wild black cherries (I haven't been able to figure out how to reach the darn things)
[ ] Check all batteries

LEARNING & GROWING

[ ] try DIY mayonnaise with fresh eggs (and write a blog post, naturally)
[ ] try out a new bread recipe
☑️ learn more formatting tricks in Markdown
[ ] 3 blog posts on website (GOT TWO DONE. Rain means spotty internet)
☑️ Daily Steem activity for 30 minutes - 1 hour per day
☑️ Finish reading The World Without Us by Alan Weisman

Who's with me? Please UPVOTE and RESTEEM! This evening I'll post my goals for the upcoming week!

SteemIt Footer.png

Thanks for reading! Want to see more?

Check out our main Fluster Farm site!
Fluster Farm on Twitter
Fluster Farm on IG

Sort:  

looks like my daily check list. 100 boxes and about 6 tasks done by the end of the week. lol. I do not like hot weather.

Yeah this rain is not helping me any right now. I always have big plans on what I'm going to get done but I have the attention span of a gnat and seem to get easily derailed. I have what I call "but first" syndrome. I'll pull some weeds but first I'm going to wash & hang a load of laundry. I'm going to wash a load of laundry but first I'm going to "quickly" wipe off the bedroom furniture. Go to get the cleaning supplies, hmm I really should organize this cabinet...
I am learning to love the heat. We moved down to North Georgia from Minnesota so the humidity is not something we're used to that much. Though I'm proud to say we have not had to use air conditioning at all so far this summer :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65