Unusual growth on Chokecherry branch

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Bugs, Fungus, or Bacteria?

What say you?


One of the younger Chokecherry bushes on the edge of the hill over looking our creek has this large growth on the top part of the central stem branch. I know that there are a good number of causes for this type of gnarl to grow but I have never seen it in Chokecherry before. Evergreens get them all the time on branches, Oak trees get all kinds of growths on them, the Birch and Poplar always have gnarls and growths. Berry bushes have seemed like they shouldn't get this type of problem.

I'm curious if anyone has seen this before on the Chokecherries as I don't recall having seen it before, and I had Chokecherry bushes ALL OVER the property I grew up on in California and now here on the farm in Washington. I have never seen this type of thing in the Elderberry bushes either.

DSC_4895_1.jpg

f/4.8 I

Sort:  

Its called Dibotryon morbosum, aka Black knot fungus. It is indeed a fungus affecting cherries, plums, apricots. We don't have much of it here in sw Ontario, Canada. But a little further northeast of here, it can be quite prevalent.

Thank you very much, that was perfect.

Now I know I need to dispose of it so as not to allow it to spread. It is quite limited, but I want it to remain so.

Congratulations @flemingfarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57