Time For Some Deer Meat Processing

in #homesteading6 years ago

Frozen deer legs take up too much freezer space!


I went to go put more food in the deep freeze and I realized I was out of room. This usually isn't a problem since we have 4 chest freezers and normally there is room in at least one. Well, we appear to have filled them all up to capacity. The need to empty something became a bit dire so I had to do something.

I have a deer that I never fully processed, I just tossed the wrapped legs in the freezer planning on grinding it up shortly after. That "shortly" did not end up being so short of a time. So here I am a year later and I need some space in the freezer. The 2 front legs had been bagged together since they were not very big, and they had been on top of everything else in the freezer, in the way constantly.

IMG_20180327_125247429-01.jpg

I set up the new Lifetime brand folding card table, covered it in plastic sheeting, and set out the tools I would need. Since we have not thrown down the money on a pro meat grinder I use our Kitchen Aid with the grinder attachment. It works pretty well but is not suited for extended use. The motor on the Kitchen Aid gets a bit hot after 20+ minutes of use and requires a rest. It works out since the rest of the motor allows for cutting more meat in prep for the next run.

IMG_20180327_134807895-02.jpg

First leg stripped and ground. The most difficult part of the process is trying to remove tendons and sinews from in and around the muscles. Grinding the tough bits, tendons, and sinews leads to a bit gnarly of a meat so it is best to remove as much as possible before. Both legs were stripped and ground into one bowl, then after cleaning up the work space the meat was packaged into quart freezer ziplocks.

IMG_20180327_143912816-1.jpg

Seven pounds of ground deer meat is now in the freezer and it takes up a small portion of the original legs. I still have the two rear legs to get to, but since they are in the bottom of the freezer, it will take a bit more ambition than I have right now to dig them out and process them. Another rainy day soon maybe.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

AND/OR

See me on SOLA & signup with this link https://sola.ai/r/ZDVIZG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

It is very satisfying grinding up all that meat and putting away those nice, neat baggies, isnt it?
Nice post!

It really is. Plus it was nice to fully complete a task I set out to do without the kids interrupting.

Whaaaa?! Tell me, what's it like? It must be magical!
Completing a task without kids interrupting?!
Wow.
;D

I KNOW!!! This was a luxury, a once in a few month type of thing.

It sounds magical... ;)

Oh wow, you get deer meat overthere? I've never seen one either.

At times the Wild Turkeys and Deer seem like they have equal numbers as the herds transit our farm.

Wow That sound amazing to me.

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts, upvoted and resteemed. Sotall curates posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59388.60
ETH 2528.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50