You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your Chickens NEED Grit [DIY Dispenser]

in #homesteading7 years ago

Very cool recycling the almond milk containers!
Oyster shell and grit are super important for the chickens. I generally just pour scoops of each on top of the feed, or do 2 or 3 scoops of feed, then scoop of each grit and shell, then more feed. My birds know when they need more and eat it, when they are good there is left over shell when I fill feed again. I have a highly sandy/small pebbley soil so they do get a good amount in the yard when scratching, but I still supplement.

Sort:  

You might think about supplementing outside of your feed in free choice dishes. I say this because maybe you're giving too much (wasting money - not that it is expensive), or giving too little. At least with the dishes you can really gauge what your chickens are using.

I think it's very important to supplement! I'd definitely rather have it there for them and they don't eat it, than them needing it and not having it, that's for sure! I hope to never deal with sour or impacted crop, even though it can still happen. Less likely with grit (I hope!).

My biggest issue is the oyster shell. I have lots of rocks in my chicken pen so old eggs that don't get used get broken on the rocks. Many people seem to have trouble with their chickens eating the eggs once they get a taste for egg shell, but that is not my experience. The turkeys, now they will eat anything, but my chickens won't proactively eat their eggs.

Between the egg shell, oyster shell, supplemental grit and grit in the soil in their yard, they do pretty well. I have yet to have an issue with the crop. They always have some form available.

Knock on wood... I have had very few problems with my poultry overall. Hopefully yours treat you as well. Mine are just getting to be escape artists...

Mine have nothing to escape. Hehe I free range and they get closed up in the coop at night. I guess they could try to escape that... but doubt they want to! Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67130.22
ETH 3466.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73