Hives are finally in place and ready for nucs

in #homesteading6 years ago

Tomorrow morning I pick up my bees!


It has taken FAR too long for me to decide on the location for the hives and yesterday I finally chose the spot. The place I had them originally was just too close to my working garden space and it did not allow for the hives to point south at the sun. This spot gives me much more space around the hives that will see less traffic and disturbances. Now that I have cleaned up all the empty bottles from this area I have room for the hives.

IMG_20180412_164702200-02.jpg

IMG_20180412_164707329-03.jpg

IMG_20180412_164722548-01.jpg

The hives are located such that I will easily be able to put a small fence around them to keep kids, pets, and unwanted varmints away from the bees. The location is right on the edge of the garden, but out of any planted/working areas.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

AND/OR

See me on SOLA & signup with this link https://sola.ai/r/ZDVIZG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

So wonderful! Can’t wait to see more on your journey in beekeeping!

I am anxious to have bees again. My first attempt didn't go well but I only had one hive then. Now with three I should at least be able to keep one going thru to next year.

I wish you all the honey!

Nice! Looks like a good spot. Bees are still on my list of things I want for the homestead.

If you can find nucs they are the best value and potential. I am getting 3 nucs for $130/ea and the package of bees I got for my first hive was $300. The nucs are much more likely to do well given they are an established hive, at least in the northern latitudes for sure.

That's a good deal! I'll look into nucs when the time comes. Thank you!😁

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Incredibly you have a beekeeping place, bee honey makes king very good medicine for health

Try Our Service Before Buy🎁

  • Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post.
  • Limited Time Offer
  • No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service.
    we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : JOIN NOW

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68548.71
ETH 3847.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73