You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Olives harvesting and olive oil extraction.

in #homesteading6 years ago

Why is it that above 2.0 you don't eat the oil? How would it get to have the different acidity?

All along I thought that the extra virgin oil would be from a first pressing and the others from subsequent pressings. Thank you for setting me straight. And I sure will look for the unfiltered version. I'm sure it is very expensive if I could find it.

Your "action" shots are wonderful. Great job with the last one. Such an interesting angle and focus :)

Sort:  

Thank you @fitinfunfood, I am glad you liked it!
Ok I was a little bit exaggerating when I said you don't eat it above 2.0, like a joke. You can eat it but I wanted to point out that the extra virgin is much better!
The acidity can be affected by many factors, some of them like the weather cannot be controlled by the farmer but some others like to extract the olive oil as soon as possible after the harvesting, can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61141.76
ETH 2438.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56