You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Liberty & Preparedness Series: #1. | What Are Your Emergency Preparedness / 72 Hour Food Supplies? Do You Have Your Stock Ready? Community Engagement Post!

in #homesteading6 years ago

My situation is a little different than most, thanks to a truck driver texting while driving, I am not physically able to bug out. I have no choice but to shelter in place. I have a decent supply of food, roughly 1/3 dehydrated, 1/3 store bought cans and 1/3 things I have canned myself. Plenty of water for 3 to 5 days, and a creek about 300 feet from my house, enough hose to reach it, a pump to pump it and a Berkey to purify it.

We have plenty of small game and I know how to live catch it so no ones pet will be harmed. Deer don't come in my back yard because of the dogs, but they come in the neighbors back yard and I have the ability to take them down.

If it goes even longer term, I have the ability and the seeds to grow more than enough food for my family and half the neighborhood if need be.

Not sure there is much more I can do to prepare at this point unless I figure out how to get new legs and eyes, lol.

Sort:  

Well, that is a great reply.

I was run over similarly on a quiet, dry day 2 yrs ago, this last week, I think the driver is lying and may have been..... distracted like with you.

It is in the courts now and I am fighting every day with half my body damaged.

Just know I hear you and I relate.

Sorry you are dealing with this now too.

Great reply, thank you!

I wish you luck in the court case and hate to hear you are going through it. Let me advise you to double check everything behind your lawyer. They do make mistakes and you are the one that loses when they do. I didn't get enough to pay off the medical bills because my lawyer made a mistake.

But, I was lucky being married to a Marine for 25 years. He was a truck driver and gone most of the time, so he made sure I knew how to take care of myself. He passed 2 years ago and let's just say, I won't go down without a fight. I don't have to be able to see the color of their eyes to hit center of body, lol.

I am watching his paperwork closer than he likely prefers, catching things here and there starting this last week.

When I am giving him info on things like SEVERE headaches and I see him not typing the words in the way I want, I stop him and tell him.

My strong suit has always been negotiating, watching details, paperwork, numbers.

All things involved here.

Your advice is good. And I love your comments tonite about the Berkey again LOL

I researched a LOT about them the last few years as a fluoride activist. I blog on the subject once a week.

I am still not 100% convinced on them, especially after the one or 2 really bad runs/years of the fluoride cartridges breaking at the seal level and leeching the water into the lower tank.

Seems to be that 1-2 year period only..... but that has stuck with me.

I don't use the fluoride cartridges because I get my drinking water from my brothers well. I use city water for everything else. But I would probably use them if I had to drink the city water.

But then again, I would probably just build a couple of solar stills. I have the supplies on hand to make a few of these.

Larry was making a couple on the side on days off and I sold them while he was on the road. They actually work pretty good. One, on a good sunny day, can purify enough to meet the drinking needs of several people for a day.

Except for the pollution in the air and the chemtrails

LOL

You had me at Berkey.

LOL

The Berkey was the first item Larry and I bought together after we married. It came before upgrades to furniture, cars and such, lol. I've used it daily for close to 27 years now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64