You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From Grass to a Vegetable Polyculture - My 2nd Suburban Garden - Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for this great post! It has given me some ideas of what I may be able to do in my dry high desert area!! But I do like grass, so I’ll have to keep some of that. ;)

I do have my Permaculture Design Certificate but I really haven’t put it into practice. I really need to keep up with more individuals like yourself to get me excited about it again.

I tried reading Gaia’s Garden and it was pretty dry for me. I wish there was an audiobook version! Lol

Oh an what program did you find to use for your digital design? Thanks!

Sort:  

Thank you @farmstead! Definitely grass is a valuable resource for fodder, compost, hangout space :)

I do agree that some parts of gaia's garden are dry, especially all the tables and facts that are very dense. But the overall ideas and concepts were so new to me that I ate them all up! Have you ever read Sepp Holzer's permaculture? His style of writing is a lot more open and light. I enjoyed it a lot. It's not so much gardening as it is homesteady.

Good question about the design. I used to be a web designer by trade so I used Adobe Illustrator. If you don't already use illustrator you might try sketch if you are on mac or Inkscape for any OS. I believe both are free. I am not as up to date on the design softwares these days. There are also landscape specific design softwares out there but I am not knowledgeable about them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32