You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DIY Guide to Herbal Medicine | Make Your Own Herbal Capsules: Save $$$ & Empower Yourself!

in #homesteading6 years ago

This is awesome! I take supplements every day. I really like taking Ginger, Turmeric, St. John's Wart, and some others. Do you have a good source for obtaining those items? I haven't the first clue where to get them to make them into little pills. Thank you!

Sort:  

Hey that’s awesome you’re interested! My go-to for top quality is Mountain Rose Herbs. Their shipping is a bit pricey so when I do order I try to do it with friends OR order it all at once.

If you don’t like that route, Amazon search for Frontier Herbs or Starwest Botanicals. All of those herbs should be available organically at reasonable prices. You’ll save so much money!!!

I like to get a pound of each to really get the price break then make a bunch of pills for enough for a a few months. Good luck & feel free to ask more questions ❤️

OKay! I WILL. ;)

Any good reference site for "mixtures"?

you mean like blending ratios?

I think so? Lol

haha cool. (btw, did you see this comment via @ginabot ;) ? lol!)...

the book The Way of Herbs or another of his, Planetary Herbology by Michael Tierra has a lot of good formulas. You can likely find the book on amazon for a very cheap price and it will be an investment in your health.

what specifically are you wondering? perhaps i can help?

also his wife Lesley Tierra has a great book also with lots of formulas

https://www.amazon.com/Healing-Herbs-Life-Lesley-Tierra/dp/1580911471

MAYBE I DID.

I’m still not completely sold on Ginabot (maybe cause I’m obsessively looking at my replies aaaanyway causeimpatheticandhavenothingbettertodomaybe).

Oh nothing specific. I’m always interested in energy and depression helps.

aw when i'm on i get obsessed too!

personally for those i always like the gentle mood regulators - lemon balm comes to mind. you can grow that pretty easily (maybe you already are?) and tincture it (let the herb steep in vodka for 6 weeks). i also like tulsi for that ,and possibly motherwort. for energy, astragalus, ashwagandha come to mind. you can do those in "simples" which is just putting one herb in the pill or you can put two. 50/50 herbal pill! anyway, if you ever want to talk herbs for anything specific, find me on discord :) <3

I would love to! I'll PM you on there! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97