You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflection: Death on the Farmstead

in #homesteading7 years ago

I try to think on the “Nature knows best” route but it’s so hard sometimes! I often wonder, “why did this happen to me? My first livestock animal, not even barely two months into this life, tainting my experience, why?” I know there’s no good answer to that. But I think that’s the hardest part of a situation such as this.

As you said in your post recently, you are closer to animals than humans, as am I. That made this seem even more difficult. I think because of this situation, maybe, I’m not as attached to the fowl - thank goodness! I’ve had to make the choice to cull a couple chicks we hatched - but it didn’t effect me too much because it wasn’t at my hand. I’m thankful to have people in my life that can distance themselves emotionally to help me deal with such things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61238.93
ETH 2454.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59