You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Random #FunFarmFacts - Chickens

in #homesteading7 years ago

You know, it may be possible that there isn't enough grit, or even the wrong kind of rock available in your back yard. It could be something to consider grabbing some next time you go buy feed. I bought a 50# bag of grit for only $10 and that was in AUGUST with my 24 chickens. Haha, I still have a lot of it left!

Sort:  

$10/50lb is cheep hehe may as well try. Btw, the sour crop occurs here maybe once every couple or three years? It could be confirmation bias, or it could correlate with Dog Vomit Slime Mold and excessive lawn shroom outbreaks

Oooh, for some reason I assumed it happened often. That's not bad at all. But I did read that people noticed a decline on their feed bill after providing grit? I can't say how accurate that is, but it's worth a go! I am so glad it is not something that happens all the time for you. Whew.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72