You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saving Up SBD for Steem Powered Raised Beds

in #homesteading7 years ago

Thank you so much @bobwhite!! Yeah it was a super bummer, made me pretty discouraged! I've only been able to garden for the last three years since moving back home! So that was pretty lame. I am so glad you found me, I really do look forward to your posts! You have so much knowledge to share!

Sort:  

While it wont prevent all animals from eating your plants, planting tobacco plants as a perimeter will deter many types of animals from going near your crop. Deer are my number one pest, and they avoid it like the plague. Seeds are super cheap too - you can get several hundred for just a couple bucks.

If it'd be of any interest, I actually did a writeup on homemade and homegrown insecticide earlier tonight.

Thanks for the tips! But other than the obvious, and possible deterrent, what can the tobacco plants be used for? Fodder? Well I guess not if it deters deer, it's probably not very great.. Maybe, living mulch or chop and drop "compost"? What do you do with it?

Definitely not good for fodder, the nicotine content prevents that from being an option. Other than using it as deterrent, alot of people grow it as ornamental plants. They're are some really pretty varieties out there, especially when they go to bloom.

I grow a few varieties - some to be used solely for insecticide, others as perimeter control for my gardens, and also grow a few others for personal use to save money by making my own cigarettes, plus the added benefit of not having the extra 500 chemicals added to it by the factory (yea, bad habit, I know).

Oh yeah that's what I figured! I will have to look into it to see if it's something for me! Hey no judgements from me man! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59410.96
ETH 2658.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43