You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BIRDHOUSES! are Simple and Awesome (w/ pics and YT video)

in #homesteading7 years ago

I need to build more bird houses! We have mountain blue birds and they're so neat! They nest in the bird house near our back deck! They come back every year. They made TWO broods this year and now I have about 12 blue birds flying around all the time. I love it!

Sort:  

Yes, this is what I'm talking about, that's so encouraging. That would be really cool to have those blue birds hanging out in the yard. If you do some more birdhouses, I'd really like to see that project with some pics of those blue birds if you can catch them. Just a thought not trying to be pushy. :) Great pic of those baby birds in your last post too.

Thanks! They're gorgeous little things, the blue birds. I feel like they're so unique because they seem to hunt sort of like birds of prey, from above, they hover, kind of like hummingbirds, then swoop down and get their bug! I love them. They've been checking me out lately too, the youngins. They play in the driveway in the evening.

You're right! I should get something together for them so t hey know it's there next year. Something I need to talk into account are cats. We're going to have to raise the current house, and future houses up higher so we don't have casualties from the cats.

The birds in that pic on my post were Brewer's Black Birds. I blogged about them a while back! If you're interested: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@farmstead/brewer-s-blackbirds-aka-crap-nuggets-nature-on-the-farmstead-4

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57613.91
ETH 2390.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43