You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dilemma of Free Range Chickens

in #homesteading7 years ago

We were letting the chickens everywhere. But then I got tired of my dog eating chicken crap. I was tired of stepping in it, and they were tearing up my irises! haha. Jerks. So, because we have 20 acres, we still free range, but we have fenced off a "back yard" area behind our house. Now they can go anywhere else. They COULD go over the fence if they wanted, but they don't very often. If one does, it is my "bestie" chicken and she shows up on the back deck lookin in the sliding glass door for me. haha.

Something I never thought about was all their CRAP. Haha. I, too, had that image of going to a country farm and meeting hens and other poultry having free range of everything. And, still that place looked nice. Nope, I don't know how they did it. TOO MUCH CRAP. Hahaha.

It really is a dilemma, huh? Deciding whether or not to confine them. I don't think I could do "supervised" time. They're not easy to herd. So they wouldn't go back in for me. But, if I had to go one way or another, I guess a tractor would be one of the best ways to go. But then you still run into the problem of the poop left in those places.

If I still lived in town, I would probably fence off a larger portion of the yard. Some sort of confinement. Or using a movable fence instead of a chicken tractor? (could possibly be cheaper).

Sort:  

Yes , the poop! I wouldn't think such little creatures could cause such issues in that Dept. I'm trying and experiment of shooing them off my deck whenever they get on. Do they learn like dogs? I don't know.

I have heard people having them learn like that! I went to hosing them with water before finally putting up a fence. Hahaha

Good idea. The problem with shooing them, is my dog gets a little too excited and then I'm watching out for another problem!

Oh yeah! My dog gets super excited over that too! Tho we have used him to help herd them a couple times successfully!! Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44