Hatching Duck Eggs: Part 2

in #homesteading7 years ago

image

Here’s a Quick photo of the eggs in their new home. There are ten that I’ve marked with Xs and Os on opposite sides since I don’t have an automatic turner. They need to be turned a minimum of four times a day so I’ve set alarms for 1a 6a 11a 4p and 9p.

I’ve slept through at least one night and the temperature and humidity remained stable overnight.

During the day I check in regularly at four hour intervals and informally about every twenty minutes.

At about seven days I will do the first candling. Given that I’ve ten eggs and this is my first go I’ll be lucky to have a 50% success rate. Candling the eggs will allow me to better estimate how many ducklings will hatch. Stay tuned for more on the development on the eggs!

Sort:  

Espero que todos nazcan. Me gustan los patos XD, aunque nunca he tenido, solamente pollitos.

yo tambien! tenemos pollos y patos aqui obviamente pero pollitos and patitos - estoy muy emocionado. si tu no le gustan los animales de bebes yo no te confia

Good luck on your candling. We like to incubate chicken and duck eggs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61039.43
ETH 2460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66