I AM NUTS ABOUT YOU #HOMESTEADING

in #homesteading5 years ago

With the growing season coming into harvest time , the farm here is going nuts. So much to do! The carrots, beets, string beans, garlic, peppers, onions, basil, rosemary and thyme. Sounds like a SIMON AND GRARFUNAL SONG. But truth is this is our season to prepare for the long winter ahead of us. We grow to store all that we can for our future. We know all our #fruitsandveggies are grown without chemical fertilizers, we grow organic, period.

This is not an easy task, once the crops come in it's asses and elbows for days at a time . But so worth it. I have been a #gardener for most of my life. I love to grow, flowers, veggies, fruits. It's a bonding with nature that I love most, fresh air, sunshine, rain and peace. If you are stressed, grow something, smell some rosemary or basil, just observe what the good Lord has provided for us, it can not be matched. LOL

Today was the day to mark the walnut trees, to know which ones will bring us a great bounty. The weather here in Upstate NY was a perfect 72 degrees, with the sun shining. So off we went to appraise our bounty in our, what we call our "PLANTION"...our walnut grove.

IMG_5817.JPG

These trees were planted with the intention of providing future generations with veneer grade lumber, which they will for sure. There is a premium on this type of lumber, walnut trees in the northeast are far more scarce
than when I was a child.

When I was a kid, my brothers and sisters and the neighborhood friends would go into the forest behind my home and collect baskets of walnuts. Our moms would love it. They would make nut breads, pies and my favorite, wet walnuts, made with maple syrup for topping ice cream. Oh great memories!

IMG_5819.JPG

The beauty that surrounds us should not be taken for granted. We all need to appreciate what this good earth has given us.
We all need to do our part to make this world a better place, to love nature and thank God for what we have.

I smell this world, and I enjoy every sniff from every flower that I grow.

IMG_5823.JPG

Every bouquet I pick

IMG_5826.JPG

Praise heaven for the bounty that is there for the taking. To feed us. Comfort us. #MAKEMESMILE

IMG_5466.JPG

Rain and sunshine, good soil and a lot of attention will give you a #sustainablelivin' if you are willing to go the distance.

IMG_5788.JPG

Plant your garden, plant those trees, it will uplift your soul and fill your belly. It could save our planet. But it most certainly make you happy. Nature is wonderful, don't let it pass you by, just take a look.

IMG_5288 (2).JPG

We are all a little nuts!

IMG_5801.JPG

Peace my friends...Strive to be happy!

Sort:  

Yes! How awesome you're expecting a bountiful harvest 💚 the wild pecans in the woods I'm tending are really showing a big crop this year. Some walnuts too, but not a big bumper crop this year.

Good morning @homesteaderscoop. There's nothing like growing your own food, right? This year has been really bountiful for us. I guess the wet spring and the somewhat dry summer has contributed to that. We are thankful. Thanks for stopping by, appreciate it! Enjoy the harvest.

Thanks a lot @thebigsweed, glad you liked it!
Now back to the harvesting, no time to waste! lol

The CooperFelix-Multiservices Team appreciates the content of this post by giving it a 40% upvote. We invite users to participate in the Project by offering a small donation on Fundition or following the project at the link: THE CF-M PROJECT.

Wellness Is Green


wellnessisgreenBuonaconFundition.jpg

The image is owned by the author and the use, reproduction or quotation without authorization is forbidden

Awesome pics. I to love to grow things. I had black walnut trees as a kid. Dont really care for walnuts now. Lol

Good morning, growing is my passion also. By early spring I am itching to get outside and plant, but the weather and soil are usually still cold here in Upstate NY. That's when I set up my grow lights and start the seeds indoors to get a jump on things, plus I love the light! Thanks for stopping in, enjoy your day.

Such a beautiful post. Thank you!

Good morning @rossfletcher, thank you for noticing. I so enjoy nature, as I believe you do also judging by your beautiful photos. Harvest time is busy, but it's great to have homegrown veggies, so worth the effort.
The one vegetable we do not grow ourselves is corn. Takes up too much space to get a good crop. So we hooked up with a local guy, he grows organic also, and we get 10 dozen from him, during peak, he picks daily, he has a nice operation, good people.

Then we be a shuckin", par-boilin', ice water bathin", vacuum packin', then freezing". Phew ! Told you it was BUSY. hahah

So nice to hear from you, have a wonderful day!

It's so uncommon around where i live that work has a direct and beautiful result like this : ) : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34