You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saving Your FALL MEAT HARVEST ON THE HOMESTEAD! - The Old Fashioned Way....Naturally!

That's pretty amazing. I notice that the whole clan turns out. I like that.
One thing I do NOT understand is the curing process. How come izit that anything nutritional can be made in-edible by bugs (bacteria) yet still be edible by peoples?

I think about things like that.

Steem on.

Sort:  

Its the salt and the natural nitrates. The bugs and bacteria don't like the salt. Plus historically this is done in winter so no bugs anyway. The celery powder in the recipe is a natural nitrate which will kill bacteria as well. People have been doing it that way for 5000 years....how they learned, I have no clue.

oh..
seems reasonable.
like I said...I always wondered why if it was bad for bacteria it was good for us.
now I know.
thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36