You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Tap Birch Trees for Mineral Rich Sap: Use It For Wine, Beer, Probiotics and More!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Awesome! I was just reading about this two days ago! I will be holding off on the tapping until next year as I've got too much going on and it's late in the season here. Having made maple syrup as a young teenager, I was planning to do it again, and I read that you could also do this with Birch! Thank you for the resources and the suggested uses! I may try the probiotic drink... Resteemed!

Sort:  

Thanks @erinn! I know all about having too much going on. I've got a bad habit of starting too many projects all at once. We just hit a cold snap again so no sap is flowing yet but ...any day now!

Yeah I know! There's just so much to do, and only so many hours in a day! I jumped into a lot of chickens all at once, not realizing how many I would get and how much time it would take to establish a flock! Yikes! That threw off my schedule a LOT. (I didn't heed the advice in all of the YouTube Homesteading videos to start with only a few! 👀 LOL! I thought about starting the taps last week but I saw it was supposed to get warm this week, which is has, so... sighs next season!!! I'll be watching to see if you show what you do with your sap!!!

Ah, the season of new life on the homestead. You'll have a nice productive flock in no time! It's easier to start with many at once than dealing with integrate new chickens later. They can be real jerks with newcomers. I'll certainly try to share what we do with it. We've got some decisions to make!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67626.56
ETH 3806.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76