You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pickled Wild Mushrooms (Chicken of the Woods)

It truly is a gorgeous mushroom! You are wise not to forage if you do not know the species, there are many dangerous plants and fungi out there. I'm hoping to help close that learning gap a bit here for those that are interested. I have a good friend from Sweden that has shared with me sweet, fond memories of chanterelles and black trumpets (both mushrooms) from her homeland. I try to bring her both a few times a year to share in her childhood memories and always save a batch of chanterelles in the freezer for a traditional european dish at Christmas. Fun food stuff here!! Thanks so much for posting and come back! I just followed you and will be keeping up with you too.

Sort:  

Great that you can bring home memories to your friend.

I know about the dangers of mushrooms only too well. I have a friend who is an experienced forager and she ate something she shouldn't have and she got very sick. It took a very long time to get well again.

It's a real threat, especially with mushrooms. There are many edible species that i feel confident identifying but still won't eat because of the potential look alikes. Certain features don't lie though and i should feel more comfortable than i actually do. I've thankfully never been sick but know others who have.

I always go with the lowest risk model as well. Better safe than sorry.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79