You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gingseng planting: Farm the forest floor

Absolutely!!! I honestly can't speak knowledgeably into European efforts with ginseng but don't think it naturally grows there like it does here...HOWEVER, that doesn't mean that the habitat isn't available there and I would think there definitely would be a market for it.

Sort:  

It doesn't seem like it has much potential as an invasive.. I'm a bit paranoid about that aspect of swapping species between continents!

Oh no, there's regulations against that! Swap would be a USA thing only. Ginseng is heavily regulated between countries and there are tons of red tape in shipping plants between countries. However, if you think you may have a good habitat try to find someone closer to get a few seeds from. :-)

I'll stick that in the arquives at the back of my brain for future reference!! I'm busy trying to write up a thesis on wild food plants now.... it's all very abstract from the real world - computer work and red eye and statistics etc etc. Can't wait to reconnect again with wild foods after this stage is done. I loved the field work bit!

Oh but that sounds exciting too!! I'd love to read it when you're done if possible! I'm fascinated by wild foods. Where is your focus with it?

Oh my gosh, I have just found out that I have way longer to finish than what I thought. I had my dates all muddled up. I am so relieved!

I'm looking at the motivations that people have for collecting wild food plants, and I want to "segment" wild food foragers by their motivation, so describing the different types of foragers essentially. I'll be collecting data on people's feelings of connection to nature and on people's environmental attitudes...and hopefully some add on data about people's personal values... so essentially being able to discuss around how people use wild food foraging as a way to cultivate an active relationship with nature. There's all sorts of interesting theories within sociology to talk around it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61779.77
ETH 2434.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62