You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Planning for Project Plastic

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Nice, it is hard to get rid of plastic for sure. Sounds like you have a good plan!

For us this year, we did away will all plastic containers, and slowly switched them out for glass and pyrex (though the pyrex still has a plastic cover.

We have glass milk bottles (though they have a plastic cap) and we get milk locally...

Bread is a tough one...we make our own bread, but how to store it so it stays fresh? I am thinking waxed paper if I can find bread bag sized...or possibly making a waxed canvas bag. It gets really humid in here, so I need to keep the bread in a dry spot...

Aside from that, I use plastic baggies for alot of my work...so have been contemplating how to get around it.

For veggies and things, we use baskets and bins...herbs in mason jars (and we use a stainless and glass Bodum coffee pot to make tea :) It works great!)

Sort:  

You're doing amazing already! Lots for me to follow there. I wrap my bread - when I actually make it - in a tea towel. It keeps it fresh for about 4 days which isn't too bad and then I toast the staler bits.

When you start investigating, SO much has plastic in it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43