Let's Try Growing Potatoes From Seeds This Year - EggMeister Going Green-Fingered

in #homesteading7 years ago

Hello All,

Some of you may remember a post I did last year regarding the surprising 'vines' growing out of my mums composter: https://steemit.com/prepping/@eggmeister/prepping-with-potato-seeds-not-seed-potatoes

If you read the above post, you'll see how amazed I was to find these vines growing and the research I did to find out more about these tomato-like beauties: -


Well, now we're into a new year and I want to try and learn how to grow these carbohydrate loaded veggies in a small plot of soil in my mums garden now that I've removed a few conifers and have some spare space available (I'll be growing runner beans to, 'Scarlet Emperor'). I also want to get my daughter to start this journey with me and be confident and inspired to grow her own vegetables in the future.
Those potato seeds (possibly a good thousand or two) in the video above have long since been dried and stored but now I want to take a few of them and grow a nice crop for my mum and I. Last year I put around 150-200 (more than enough) to one side in preparation for the 2018 growing season. These are Red Potatoes but I'm unsure as to the variety.

[there's a small 'nick' in the clear bag to allow for any remaining moisture to escape]
20180203_182157.jpg
20180203_182153.jpg

I will take around a dozen or so of these seeds and sow them indoors, I can't find much info on 'potato seeds' only 'seed potatoes' which are an entirely different matter.

I will update you guys when I get to the point of sowing them, probably in yoghurt pots initially before heading outside. Any advice on utilizing potato seeds would be greatly appreciated.

So watch this space guys, more to follow :)

Thanks for stopping by,

The Meister

footer2.png

Sort:  

I'm curious as to why you didn't Dtube this one Mr. @eggmeister?

It's an older video from when I processed the 'pods' last year, before I was aware of the Dtube platform.

Smart man. Leverage as much as you can. The Bchain is changing everything..

nice post..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40