EggMeister's 2018 Veggie Progress - Self-Sufficiency Drive - May Update

in #homesteading6 years ago

Hello All,

A few weeks ago I made a start on trying to become familiar with growing a few of my own veggies. Feel free to get the back story from my previous post on the subject: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@eggmeister/eggmeister-s-2018-veggie-progress-self-sufficiency-drive

Anyhoo, it was about time I give you guys an update as to the progress so far. Just a heads-up but it's fair to say so far that everything seems pretty good (I'm just happy I've managed to get some signs of life).

20180425_131100.jpg
Towards the end of April I've got 9 definite red potatoes coming up out of 14 (the seedling top right in the 4x3 tub is an impostor) and 4 butternut squashes out of 8 seeds. So about a 75% success rate for the tatties but only 50% for the squashes.


20180510_105452.jpg
It's now the 10th of May and I've transferred the seedlings to mum's garden, all that white stuff lying around is blossom :) The potatoes are under the lemonade bottles and the squashes are top right. I've also planted the runner beans, two either side of each cane (36 beans in total).

20180510_105518.jpg
I'm not sure if I've got the squashes too close together though.

20180510_105502.jpg
The potatoes are in a 4 inch trench so I can cover them with more soil at a later date to increase yield (Well; that's the plan).


20180515_100245.jpg
Here I am on the 15th of this month, doing a spot of watering (as mum isn't able to keep up with the task).

20180515_101300.jpg
I've added a mix of crushed egg shells and wood shavings to try and keep the slugs off but also to slow the evaporation after watering. A rough count of the runner beans shows about 15-18 of the little'uns have now made it to sunlight.


Watch this space folks, it might start to get exciting ;)

Bye for now,

Eggmeister.

footer2.png

Sort:  

LOOKS GREAT!!!
Love that you're there to help your mom!! I know she will appreciate all your hard work when the harvest starts coming in.

Cheers @goldendawne, much appreciated :)
Yeah, if all those beans germinate we'll be 'loaded' this Summer/Autumn LOL.

Mum was always very keen on her gardening and it's a shame I can't devote more time to keep on top of it. It's just a case of occasonal mowing, edging and a little weeding. The bulk planting routine every year has gone out of the window.

Thanks again :)

I ma quite sure she appreciates every second you're able to dedicate to her garden.

Loaded? OMGosh! Will you be eating beans every day for weeks, months? lol

I'm sure she does :)

LOL, it's a good job I love'em ;)

This looks like fantastic progress! Just what our family would love to do (if we had a garden)
Keep it up man. I'd be chuffed to see signs of life if it was me too.

I'm expecting some monster veg photos in a month or so!

Hi @ashtv, cheers for your comments :) It's a nice feeling of accomplishment (as long as they survive LOL).

Yup, I'll be updating soon. Runners beans doing well already, squashes and tatties are struggling a bit.

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Congratulations @eggmeister! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37