You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crossbeak the Rooster

in #homesteading7 years ago

Firstly, I name all my chickens. I have to know their names when the day comes to thank them for dinner! But Im not very creative, all my black ladies are Roberta for example.

Also, whats this about not 'allowing' them to mate in front of you? I've never heard that and now I'm wondering if I have some over-sexed chickens.

Great article, I love the time lapse of Crossbeak growing up, takes a lot of time but the result is a great article like this! I learned something new today thanks to @farmstead

Sort:  

I'm no expert or anything but from my research haha -- it helps establish yourself as the "head honcho". In the case of an aggressive rooster helps protect yourself. To me, they should see me as this and not a threat to attack. I have two roosters. Haha

I don't name mine cause I have a bad habit of getting attached to things. Since I free range I know the dangers of them being taken away by a predator is extremely high.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52