You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's new? Getting ready for winter!

in #homesteading6 years ago

I have also used lemon grass, geranium, citronella... but as you know... here are just times to wear the suit!! Lol I LOVE my screen tent and coils.
Love our chats too! It's great to bounce off ideas with people that are doing things in a good way. Xoxo huge love to you!

Sort:  

I have never tried lemon grass or geranium. So you have used an essential oil or did you make your own tincture? I will have to look into that. The more we have to work with the better.

We don't have a screen tent, what a good idea. Then you could be outside more. I would love to sit outside and knit or crochet but it is just not possible. Also I would love to sit out there and have my morning coffee. That to me is the best. There are a few days in the year when I can do that with less bugs.

Have a great day.

I use essential oils for now. One day i would like to distill my own. That's on my list...LOL
We love the screen tent. Best 149.$ i have ever spent. Its 10x10. and we live in it pretty much. we only come in on soaking rainy days, and to sleep. This year I am making a basic outdoor kitchen, so that there will be no heat inside the house. :)
I spray the tent screens with citronella...and sometimes have to light a coil when they are really thick.
I find that when I am indoors too much, i get lazy.

I should look into a citronella spray. Usually we don't use anything. This year is so bad. In the mornings they are even in the house. While on the computer I am swatting more than I would like. It is ver distracting. We have a hole somewhere where and they are getting in. Time to seal everything up.

Having an outdoor kitchen would be fantastic. We had a sink and counter tops in the atrium and I loved it. Now the atrium is full of plants. The kitchen in the atrium took the pressure off of my kitchen and it stayed cleaner.

You be lazy, I can't imagine. Oh yeah I know we all have our moments. However this time of year there doesn't seem to be too much time for lazy.

We are having an invasion of birch shield bugs ... aka stink bugs. Im wondering if this is a cycle year. They are insane. But at least they don't bite.

I just add 10-20 drops of the oil to water in a spray bottle. You could also add it to the eucalyptus concoction you make. :) i figure something has to work.

They are clever critters... always find a way in!

I love the idea of the kitchen in the atrium! I would live in there lol!! Will you be moving the plants? Or will that be your jungle for the summer? What about lemon balm? Or citronella plants in there? Then you have them to make the infusion to spray!?

I have never heard of birch shield bugs. That is a good thing that they don't bite. The bugs are relentless. I guess they have to live too.

I am going to straighten up the atrium and do some pics for a blog. We need to use it for our garden so the plants won't move. I think when I am done and they are grown a bit it will look cool. With the hot tub in there it will be a great place to sit and relax.

I don't have lemon balm or citronella plants. Maybe when I go to town I will see if I can find some. I never thought about planting them. So much to think about. I think I need to start lists so I don't for get all of these things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68399.98
ETH 3840.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64