Pumpkin&squash

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Today I was doing inventory in the pantry. Getting ready to plan the garden, to see what I need the most. For my 3 year plan.

I have 2 pumpkins and a squash that I need to process. So that is what I did today :)

20180212_120739.jpg

I pressure can them, because it uses less water and pumpkin needs to be pressure canned for food safety. I don't mash the pumpkin, because the internal core needs to reach the proper temperature. So i cube and raw pack.

I did cube some and freeze it. The animals love it! I have to use them up before spring. I add pumpkin to many dishes. Even spaghetti sauce! (Shhhhh don't tell Avia)

And of course..pumpkin seeds are baked canned! :)

20180212_130730.jpg

What to do with the rest of my day?! Lol

Sort:  

I can't wait to get planting again. This past year I had the absolute SWEETEST pumpkin of my life (Galeux D'Eysines) and I will be growing them this year. It's like candy as soon as you roast it and such a beautiful blush colour. Such a treat.

Do you have any extra seeds for trade? I think we are comparable in climate! I would love to try them!

I sure do. All packed up and ready to trade. Send me your address :)

Are you on chat?

I am. HarvardHomestead#5682

Looking good! The seeds look yummy too:)

So you jar everything you grow. How long of a process is it? How many jars did the pumpkins make?
Hopefully this upcoming growing season will allow me to have some pumpkins ^_^ I will have many uses for them.

2 pumpkins and a squash gave me about 7 canned quarts. And a few frozen ziplocks. Its 90 minutes a batch in the pressure canner. We also have access to left over pumpkins after Halloween. So we grow a few for avia, and for the price, buying seconds for canning is a good alternative. I want to try dehydrating them this year.

That would be something to try. Mmmmmm with cinnamon and ice cream mmmmmmm maple ice cream. lol Thanks @earthmother... now I have cravings.

My pleasure! Be sure to share your creation!!! Lol

I am encouraged by your pantry pic! I am freestyle gardening this year with no Plan!!

My gardens here are multiplying and improving, this Ozark mountain is teaching me about soils and the world below my feet.

My pantry is a work in progress, jars have recently been unpacked and storage is being created.

I'm a few paces behind you with my recent relocation, yet every day I see growing rewards from my investments.

Thank you for sharing your rewards!

Those are sometimes the best gardens ever!! I would say you are doing it right if it is multiplying and improving!
Last year i started over as well.
Change is the only constant! :)

The ozarks are beautiful! Looking forward to seeing your journey!!

wow. thats a good way to preserve pumpkin. i have learned and would surely try them out. i would let you know how it turns out @earthmother. thanks for sharing

Let me know how they turn out! This way you can make pies, soups, muffins... so many things to create!

sure i will. it looks easy looking at the way you explained it. i'm hoping i dont get to spoil things while trying them out. lol.

thanks again

Use a pressure canner! Or freeze it. You can Google the times and pressure for your area. :)

yeah. i'm sure the pressure canner would be a better option, cuz i live in Nigeria, we still have issues with electricity(power)

i would still google them and get more info. thanks again

My wife made an amazing pumpkin crumb cake after we harvested a couple pumpkins this year. fresh pumpkin is so worth it!
Following!

Mmmmmmmm crumbcake!!!! I haven't had one in years!!!
Do you have a large garden?

Its an 80x60 garden. Big enough for use so far

Can't wait for our jap pumpkins to be ready, now iv'e seen your post - ours are still quite small:-

DSC04061.JPG

And it looks like several have died off due to the extreme heat :( - as there is no real winter here, we tend to harvest when we want the food. Getting dinner ready here at @minismallholding usually starts with getting the spade :)

How amazing is that!! Garden to plate all year long! For my pumpkins and squash, i cut vines and concentrate on a few of the fruits. I don't have large space, so it helps with that too :) you send the greatest garden pics!

Mmmmm baked pumpkin seeds are THE BEST!

I have to agree with you there! I could go for some now :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95